Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default I Need help ? Raster logo to Vector logo.

I want to complete a logo drawn by hand in Xara extreme but if I scan it in I get a picture file instead of the symbol only. What am I doing wrong.....help!
    I am just a beginner.

Default Re: I Need help ?

Welcome to Talkgraphics.

You aren't doing anything wrong. Scanners create bitmapped files (.tif, .jpg, etc.) Most scanners have OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software so they can do some scan to document work. If you are wanting to scan a logo and have a vector object to work with, I don't know of any combination of scanner and software that can do that.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

Sure if you post the scanned image someone will be delighted to give you some hints on how to proceed further.
    "Intbel" ... "Can't" is not an option.

Compliance is futile. Resistance is futile. Just do your own thing an' ignore 'em.

If someone tried to make me dig my own grave I would say No.
    They're going to kill me anyway and I'd love to die the way I lived:
    Avoiding Manual Labour.

Default Re: I Need help ? Raster logo to Vector logo.

If the logo was drawn in Xara Xtreme - do you not have the XAR file to work with?

Christine

Haven;t tried this...

http://www.mr-soft.net/en/r2v.html

??

Better/Worse than the bitmap tracer in xara?

Quote Originally Posted by Soquili View Post
    Welcome to Talkgraphics.

You aren't doing anything wrong. Scanners create bitmapped files (.tif, .jpg, etc.) Most scanners have OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software so they can do some scan to document work. If you are wanting to scan a logo and have a vector object to work with, I don't know of any combination of scanner and software that can do that.