Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Hybrid View

I'm new to this format of a forum (I frequent about.com and Delphi). When I see a message that I want to respond to, how do I do it?

I (obviously) know how to start a thread but how do I respond to a post that is in the middle of a thread?

Till now I've been clicking on the double quotes above the message box, then deleting everything out but there's got to be an easier way.

Thank you. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img]

Blessings and Peace.
    Blessings and Peace.

Prince Edward Island, Canada --- The land of lawn tractors

I tried to address this question in your other recent thread.

This forum software doesn't 'nest' replies the way some other systems do. Here most threads are typically short with only several postings. What seems to work reasonably well is to not quote at all. Instead just identify the person as if you are calling them, and then follow with your remarks. Most of the time this works very well and it is possible in one message to reply directly to several prior comments if you wish. The result can be compact and to the point vs. several new postings to write the same thing.

In effect the style is more conversational and less formal. Given the typically short threads it rarely gets confusing.

If you want to quote someone it generally is more flexible to just cut&paste.

Regards, Ross

<a href=http://www.designstop.com/>DesignStop.Com</a>

Prince Edward Island, Canada --- The land of lawn tractors

And a little 'post reply' button can be found at the top too. They both do the same thing.

Regards, Ross

<a href=http://www.designstop.com/>DesignStop.Com</a>