Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How can I draw/create the wavy lines in this way?

Hello, maybe someone can give me some tips: How can I draw/create the wavy lines (see images) in this way? I have already tried it a few times with the "Pen Tool" but somehow the line always becomes a bit "angular". In addition, it seems to me that it should actually be more like 2 filled (wave) shapes which are then assigned different transparency and which partially overlap.

However, the image ("shape") must also be rounded off at the bottom or at least cut out so that you can later use any image as a filling.

Is there something like this in the Xara design templates (or in the case of free templates, vectors) that you can convert. But I found nothing.

I have been using Xara for 15 years but only for graphics/websites. Unfortunately, I have almost no experience with drawing such curves,

Thanks for any help.

Tom

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	waves1.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	76.3 KB 
ID:	133253

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	waves2.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	81.6 KB 
ID:	133254

Default Re: How can I draw/create the wavy lines in this way?

Additional info: The "original" is from a wordpress template, the waves are SVG generated with 3 paths. The seems generated at runtime so you can not copy anything to use as "blueprint".

Tom, the quickest way is to use three copies of the image and slice each with a wavy line and discard the bottom cut-out.
    you then just stack the three parts and give two of them a 50% Linear Transparency.

Each horizontal line starts outside the image and would have three points (left, middle right) all connected as Make Curve and Smooth Join.
    This allows to to smoothly adjust the curve.

With a Line in position over one image , select Both and pick Combine Shapes > Slice.

If you Clone the three Lines, you can thereafter adjust the curves and width to suit for new designs.

Acorn