Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    348

    Default Problem filling with bitmap

    Any idea why the rectangular edge of the bitmap fill is showing outside the containing shape? Eeirdky it doesn’t show in XDP+ whilst working. Only when previewing or printing.

    Thanks all.
    Ali
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8A93D175-BE21-4E7D-9C79-84E8F737A8A8.jpeg 
Views:	77 
Size:	252.8 KB 
ID:	132734  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    *Weirdly

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4,502

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    Is the original image a group? Perhaps there's an unwanted object causing this. If you post the image here, we can take a look.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    41,498

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    Shadow?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    17,799

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    ArtyBoots

    What I have just tried is a Bitmap Copy of an irregular image, used as a Fill for a Box.
    When I apply the Shadow, it show around the irregular image but in Preview the Box is also shadowed.
    I have tried it with the original clipped, image, a Bitmap Copy and a Bitmap Fill.
    i have set each to force a PNG output.

    All FAIL - you have found a Bug.
    I tried in XDPXv15 and all three work as expected.

    Moving the Thread to the Dear Xara forum.

    Wonky Shadows.xar

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    Thanks so much everyone. This was my first time of using the new upgraded XDP+ offline. What was weird… and pl remember I do this hundreds of times a month… is that when I went to the bitmap gallery, the images were there but none had the ability to be used as a fill. All options were grayed out. The only way to fill any object (vector or bitmap) with a bitmap was either by right clicking on the bitmap and selecting Fill there, or by going to the Fill tool on the main toolbar and selecting Bitmap as a fill from there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    For completeness… I was trying to fill an irregular image with a rectangular bitmap, not vice versa.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    17,799

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    Quote Originally Posted by Artyboots View Post
    For completeness… I was trying to fill an irregular image with a rectangular bitmap, not vice versa.
    Artyboots, thank you for the clarification - same issue!.

    The Xara method I usually adopt is to clone the irregular shape and remove the image, put to back, feather and colour and adjust its position.
    Overall, I prefer adding my shadows via CSS coding, cleaner all round.

    Usually when you have lost a previously working option, the update has not applied a library properly. Try running once as Administrator.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    41,498

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    Is this a Cloud issue? I have no problems with this on the desktop app.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    17,799

    Default Re: Problem filling with bitmap

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Is this a Cloud issue? I have no problems with this on the desktop app.
    Gary, XPro+. Have you Previewed my file?

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •