Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Discussion on the new object handles

Hello everyone,

Some introduction: I am not a designer. I use Xara for "small things" -- namely for technical illustrations. However, I am the user since very old versions, through the Corel-Xara time... until now. At the very begining, I did use CorelDRAW a lot, Adobe Illustrator -- switched to Xara when it appeared, and never regretted. This way, I can say, I feel "the spirit" of the tool, and it fits my needs (and my brain). The tool always "evolved", keeping the things that worked unchanged -- I mean the user interface. In other words, the behaviour was enhanced sometimes, but the good features were never removed.

Even though I do not use Xara (later ... Photo & Graphics Designer) frequently, I did buy new versions occasionally, and now I do buy the license "for the next year". So, I am not new in that either.

In the last versions, I was quite disappointed by the change of the object handles. Frankly, I liked more the old small, squares around plus the second set of handles after the other click. There may be two reasons for not liking the new handles:
    1. I am kind of conservative, and I do not like changes without the reason, or...
    2. The new handles are simply worse.

As that view may express only my opinion, and not the opinion of the majority, I have thought more about pros and cons. Please, add your own if you think that something is missing, and somehow important for you.

PROS of the old handles:
    • They were intuitive, and were simple simple.
    • The handles were small, and they did not disturb you when looking at the picture.
    • Still, the handles were easy to spot.
    • The handles did not combine too much functions together -- clicking the object selected the second set of handles, that were equally simple to understand.

CONS of the new handles:
    • They look clumsy to me.
    • The icons are too big, obscuring the image.