Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Windows 11

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    40,163

    Default Windows 11

    My wife's HP Elite laptop says its ready to update to Windows 11. She held off installing.

    Good or bad?

    I have not really heard anything about 11.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: Windows 11

    Gary. I was told NOT to update to Windows 11 for at least 6 months. Just because you can doesn’t mean it’s right. MS will push Windows 11 in its marketing. I’m at the moment upgrading my system and was told to stay away. In fact Win 11 doesn’t have to be installed till the end of 2022.
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    XARA Pro+. WD17, Designer 17. Premium packages.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,567

    Default Re: Windows 11

    no reason to upgrade for the sake of it...
    -------------------------------
    Wyrd bi ful ard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Surrey, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,376

    Default Re: Windows 11

    My system isn't ready for windows 11 thank goodness!!
    Intel i7-2600 processor 3.4GH, Windows 10 64Bit, 12GB Memory, Geforce 960 2Gb graphics card

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Reading. UK
    Posts
    6,471

    Default Re: Windows 11

    I thought I had a fairly decent Laptop?
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz 2.59 GHz
    RAM 8Gb
    Windows 10 Home

    But, I'm being told 'This PC doesn't currently meet the minimum system requirements to run Windows 11'

    So, what specification are needed, then?

    Featured Artist on Xara Xone . May 2011
    . A Shield . My First Tutorial
    . Bottle Cap . My Second Tutorial on Xara Xone

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    40,163

    Default Re: Windows 11

    Basically if your computer is not new or almost new, you probably need a new computer to get all the benefits.

    I found an option to tell Windows we do not want to update right now.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Felton, DE, USA
    Posts
    501

    Default Re: Windows 11

    My 8 year old HP desktop died last week and I bought a new HP desktop to replace it. It came with Windows 11 Home and so far everything works (including Xara). I went with all SSD drives (3) and what a difference in speed compared to hard drives.
    Glenn

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,311

    Default Re: Windows 11

    I've been running Windows 11 for months through the Insider program. I've also loaded the retail version on 3 new builds so far with no problems. It's as stable as Win 10 and hasn't thrown any issues with 3rd party software. Yes, Xara loaded perfectly well and runs properly. To be fair, it's not my main computer, so Xara isn't fired up very often.

    Win11 requires UEFI and not BIOS, which has been out for 10 years. Most computers will be UEFI. It also requires TPM2 (Trusted Platform Module) which has been around since 2014/2015. TPM can be switched off and on in the UEFI and is usually buried in the Security section. I haven't done enough to say whether it's typically off or on by default. The last requirement, which is where Rik falls over, is the need for a Gen7 or Ryzen CPU. Rik's 6500U is Gen 6.

    MS have been rolling out their PC Health Check app with the latest Win10 updates, or you can download directly from MS and various other places like Major Geeks. Among other things, the app will test your computer for Win11 compatibility.
    Last edited by Chris M; 11 November 2021 at 09:35 PM. Reason: spelling

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,567

    Default Re: Windows 11

    fwiw - my desktop had TPM2 switched off by default in UEFI; as soon as that was activated it became win 11 compatible much to my relief as I though I would need new hardware
    -------------------------------
    Wyrd bi ful ard

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Michigan at the moment
    Posts
    288

    Default Re: Windows 11

    My old Dell laptop took a dump on me so had to buy a new one. The new Lenovo came with Windows 11 Home installed and although I've only had it a short time, seems to work fine for me and once I got used to some of the new differences from 10 I kind of like it.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •