Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    19

    Default Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Hi, just created a new website, first time using xara. We have our own hosting service and have put all the ftp details in correctly (not using any optional sub directory). However, when we type the web address for the site in, it comes up as page not found. When looking in the hosting file manager, we can see that xara has not put the files in a public folder that it has seemingly created, instead of the one already there. If we type in our site in the form http://www.*****.com/index.html the home page comes up, but not if we type http://www.*****.com, which is the normal way....

    Can anyone help with this as we're kind of stuck at the moment?

    Than you in advance !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,990

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Welcome to TalkGraphics

    Sorry for the delay. New posts with links do not get posted until the moderators can make sure the post is not spam.

    Most hosts want website files placed in a sub-directory, usually public_html

    If you have done this and you are still not seeing your changes, and if you have cleared the page cache by keying in Ctrl + F5 then it may be a case of Xara defaulting to htm instead of .html.

    If there are current files that end in .html they will take precedence over .htm files.

    Gary
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FTP settings.png 
Views:	23 
Size:	39.8 KB 
ID:	130825  
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Welcome to TalkGraphics

    Sorry for the delay. New posts with links do not get posted until the moderators can make sure the post is not spam.

    Most hosts want website files placed in a sub-directory, usually public_html

    If you have done this and you are still not seeing your changes, and if you have cleared the page cache by keying in Ctrl + F5 then it may be a case of Xara defaulting to htm instead of .html.

    If there are current files that end in .html they will take precedence over .htm files.

    Gary
    Thanks Gary, yes, it does seem xara is doing something strange, we tried both publishing to the /public_html directory (as you suggested) and then with no sub directory, in both cases the same happened. So it maybe be as simple as xara changing the .html vs .htm. Any idea how to fix this? Or at least contact the xara development team as, annoyingly, I can't find any contact details on their webpage
    Last edited by wwdileie; 16 October 2021 at 02:43 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    14,360

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    If you are stating the directory is /public_html then your HTML files need to have the extension .html.
    In your first page properties, change the filename index to index.html.

    Acorn

    P.S. the contact page will be the one for "MagiXara" in my signature block below as you are using XDP.
    Last edited by Acorn; 16 October 2021 at 12:43 PM.
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,899

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    If you are stating the directory is /public_html then your HTML files need to have the extension .html.
    @ Acorn: Not following that. I upload to the sub-folder 'public_html' on my host. This is the default folder for my website. However I only ever use Xara's .htm file extension, never .html and it causes o problems.

    @ wwdileie: Can you attach a screen grab of your publish settings window with the details of username / password etc blanked out of course?
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    @ Acorn: Not following that. I upload to the sub-folder 'public_html' on my host. This is the default folder for my website. However I only ever use Xara's .htm file extension, never .html and it causes o problems.

    @ wwdileie: Can you attach a screen grab of your publish settings window with the details of username / password etc blanked out of course?
    Hi Egg Bramhill, sure thing, should be attached... Thanks for your help
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FTP SC.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	64.3 KB 
ID:	130830  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    @ Acorn: Not following that. I upload to the sub-folder 'public_html' on my host. This is the default folder for my website. However I only ever use Xara's .htm file extension, never .html and it causes o problems.

    @ wwdileie: Can you attach a screen grab of your publish settings window with the details of username / password etc blanked out of course?
    Hi Egg Bramhill, I've tried to attach a screen shot twice, once saturday and once today, but my reply and attachment don't show up? I'm wondering if it's sitting in a moderators 'to OK' box?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Hi, have been trying to reply to your post three times and it never appears, it seems that either a moderator isn't ok'ing them or somehow they're not getting through?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    14,360

    Exclamation Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Quote Originally Posted by wwdileie View Post
    Hi, have been trying to reply to your post three times and it never appears, it seems that either a moderator isn't ok'ing them or somehow they're not getting through?
    Hi, thank you for the prompt. I never noticed until you flagged it.
    I think the Thread has been stopping your Posts, as early on you included www(.)*****.com/index.html, which was not recognised as an allowed link.
    I will keep an eye open.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,899

    Default Re: Issue in publishing site to hosting domain

    Couple of points ww:

    The default folder on most hosting servers is public_html not public_htm

    Secondly are you sure your site dosen't have a ssl certificate. If it does you need to change the FTP to FTPS
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •