Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1

    Default Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    Does Xara Designer Pro X 18 have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?
    sadicus - Win10 ● nvidia 32GB ● XDP17
    IP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,856

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    Describe what a smart fill is. I have not used Corel Draw since the mid 1990s.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook





    IP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,367

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    no

    in xara you can only fill an object itself - you cannot 'fill' enclosed areas, including intersections, in a way that automatically creates new objects that you can seperate out
    Last edited by handrawn; 12 September 2021 at 06:55 AM. Reason: add some
    -------------------------------
    Wyrd bi ful ard
    IP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Nieuwebrug, Friesland, The Netherlands
    Posts
    346

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    Smart fill is filling a certain defined area with a shape. Inkscape has it, in the image the orange shape has been filled with the "fill bounded areas" tool.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	inkscape_fill.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	79.1 KB 
ID:	130610

    Come to think of it; it would be handy if Xara would have this tool also.

    But then, development of Xara has been slow and we (users) have suggested several improvements who are on the wishing list ....
    IP

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,367

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    exactly - you have shown an intersection fill there - also these ' smart fills' are objects in their own right - a point to note, as you do not need to go through the much slower break shapes route as you do with xara [in corel - cant remember with inkscape]

    myself and others were asking for this from xara 10 years ago, but they do not seem interested
    Last edited by handrawn; 12 September 2021 at 09:42 AM.
    -------------------------------
    Wyrd bi ful ard
    IP

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    14,156

    Info Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    Depends how desperate you are.

    Steps:

    1. Clone your Shapes
    2. Add Shapes
    3. Colour Shape
    4. Break Shapes - the intersection space is now filled
    5. Move Shape behind.

    As it does not depend on any adjustments, this could be set as a Macro.
    If you reposition the initial Shapes, you need to repeat the steps.

    I use AutoHotKeys.
    Xara needs to introduce its own macro recorder.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/
    IP

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,367

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    I quote xara website re xara designer pro :

    Quite simply the world's fastest graphics software
    not really is it in this context
    -------------------------------
    Wyrd bi ful ard
    IP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    14,156

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    I quote xara website re xara designer pro : not really is it in this context
    handrawn, you know there is a difference between rendering and constructing.

    That said, if I had such a macro, surely pressing it would be faster than a lot of menu calls or key presses?

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/
    IP

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,367

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    sure, of course, I know the difference - but until xara has macro it is moot
    -------------------------------
    Wyrd bi ful ard
    IP

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,367

    Default Re: Does Xara have a Smart Fill like Corel Draw?

    and why then do they not say 'the world's fastest rendering graphics software'

    it is a claim that dererves derision as stated
    -------------------------------
    Wyrd bi ful ard
    IP

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •