Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    5

    Question Asking to see if this is possible

    Hi,
    I'm building a simple (at first) three page site using the "Vue Supersite" theme, which makes a carousel/flip type website.

    I would like to have the Home (index) page as the center page, the 2nd page flip to the left or the 3rd page flip to the right (from the Home page).

    How can I do that?

    Thanks,
    Nick...
    (Web Design Premium 15)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    927

    Default Re: Asking to see if this is possible

    If I correctly undestand your requirement you could
    move the Home page to the middle,
    rename it "home",
    rename the about page (now the first page) to "index",
    adjust the menu to show "About" for the first page
    and add a little script that forces the Home page to be opened when visited.
    See example (created in Designer Pro X12).
    Code is placed at the website head.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    17,823

    Default Re: Asking to see if this is possible

    Quote Originally Posted by siran View Post
    If I correctly undestand your requirement you could
    move the Home page to the middle,
    rename it "home",
    rename the about page (now the first page) to "index",
    adjust the menu to show "About" for the first page
    and add a little script that forces the Home page to be opened when visited.
    See example (created in Designer Pro X12).
    Code is placed at the website head.
    siran, I like the clever check as to whether the hash exists.
    I was going to use a sessionStorage.pageLoadCount check or document.referrer.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Asking to see if this is possible

    Thanks for the comeback

    I tried that but without the script. What script do I need to create? (I don't have Designer Pro, only WDP15)

    Your attached SupersiteCenterHome.web failed to load/open. I D/Led it - what app would open it?

    Nick...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    21,917

    Default Re: Asking to see if this is possible

    Hi Nick. Xara has two default filetypes, .xar & .web
    They are interchangable and any Xara software will open either.
    It may be you haven't associated .web file types with your Xara software. To get around this open whatever Xara software you're using and drag the .web file into the Xara's title bar.
    It may also help if you right click the Xara launch icon and 'Run as Administrator'
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    927

    Default Re: Asking to see if this is possible

    The script is:
    Code:
    <script>if(!location.hash)location.hash='xl_xr_page_home';</script>
    but you will have to adjust xl_xr_page_home to xl_xr_page_... whatever the name of the page is that you want to be shown first.
    You can put the script to the head of the site, a page or a placeholder, it doesn't matter when using a supersite.

    Acorn, there are always multiple ways to do something in javascript.

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •