Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,326

    Question Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    Dear Xara Cloud+/Pro+

    Just noticed an entry under the QuickShape Tool > Insert button.
    Ignoring the 2 Serious Errors, we seem to have a new option - Registered SmartShapes.

    Apart from the obvious, can you explain what we can do with the 160+ SmartShapes other than avoid having to open the OCC instead?

    SLWG? & SmartBarChartCrash? are two of my favourites.

    Acorn


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-03-24 23.18.39.png 
Views:	33 
Size:	14.1 KB 
ID:	129230

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-03-24 23.35.54.png 
Views:	29 
Size:	14.2 KB 
ID:	129231
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,282

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    Maybe because they are registered we cannot see them unless we have the proper clearance.

    Just tried this and got the same two error messages.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,829

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    as far as I can see the registered smart shapes can be accessed offline, whereas the OCC cannot

    the two smart shapes that generate the error message[s] are just not working - maybe they are not registered for some reason
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,326

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    Look, I was being kind. It is another Xara developer tool that has been left there by accident.
    It shows a number of things (to me) that the Xara code is complex and its people get pressured or complacent.

    The fabled SmartShape API is never going to happen.
    Instead, Xara should offer a competition for the best new Xara SmartShape design that it then builds in.

    It is interesting he prominence that SmartShapes have achieved in Xara's mindset.
    160+ of them but when the OCC expired, a customer loses most of the Component access (unless used prior).

    It is nice to know as I have always stated that all the SmartTables were just a variation on Table 09, c.f., SmartTableDev.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Xara HQ, Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,451

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    Hi Acorn,

    Apologies, yes that was accidentally included in the Pro+ release. we'll remove it in a patch shortly. It's a menu used in internal builds to load SmartShapes that are in development for testing. All the working shapes are available through the CC and insert menus, so there's nothing extra there that's useful.

    Thank you for letting us know.

    Rob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,829

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    It is interesting he prominence that SmartShapes have achieved in Xara's mindset.
    160+ of them but when the OCC expired, a customer loses most of the Component access (unless used prior)
    yes, well that is because that is the way xara is basing it's future product, or it has nowhere else to go, or maybe both;

    the Xara code is complex
    we know this

    its people get pressured or complacent
    or deadlines and getting out a release becomes more imortant than tying up all the loose ends - they are not alone in this, although microsoft, for example, are better with windows 10 than they used to be with earlier versions [so far]

    it all comes down to the cash-flow treadmill at the end of the day I would think

    Look, I was being kind. It is another Xara developer tool that has been left there by accident
    if so that is a pity - offline access would be a definate plus on the do-I-renew ledger for me....
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,829

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    cross posted with Rob... pity but no surprise
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,326

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    if so that is a pity - offline access would be a definate plus on the do-I-renew ledger for me....
    You still have off-line access through the download All of the blue folders in the Local Designs gallery.

    What I found interesting was the number of derivations and directions things were going.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,829

    Default Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    yes of course, just being lazy really
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,326

    Smile Re: Pro+ - Registered Smartshapes

    @Xara, in removing the Registered SmartShape entries access, could you actually deliver SmartStraightArbritraryShape?
    It is a simple utility that works as a 2-point straight line and a 3-point triangle.

    It is fun making it go wrong with a Art Line and a Contour.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Albion.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	115.6 KB 
ID:	129235

    If anyone wants to access the Registered SmartShapes, Customise key shortcuts and associate Shift+Ctrl+, to the Registered SmartShapes... entry.
    This works as far back as XDPX v15, which has a far nicer interface, by the way.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •