Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Morelos, Mexico
    Posts
    209

    Default WDP interface language

    Hi all.

    I’m having a strange issue with Xara WDP. I have an active subscription, and I’m trying to download it onto a new computer. I click the “free trial” button from the webpage, and it proceeds with the download. But at the point of installation, I’m shown a dropdown menu requesting the language of installation. The only options are German, Spanish, French, Italian, and Dutch… NOT English (British or American). I’ve attempted it twice, once from the US website and then from the Canadian website. Same on both. When I open the program, it offers me the option of switching… but only among the five languages.

    My old computer has the program in American English, and every previous version has been as well.

    Is there something going on that English is not being offered?

    Thanks for any words of wisdom.
    (I’m posting this twice… once in the Web Design chat and again in the Dear Xara chat. Apologies, as I don’t know which is more appropriate.)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,688

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    silly question maybe - but your windows is set up for english ?
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,191

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    I deleted your duplicate post.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Morelos, Mexico
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    Thanks for responding, Gary.
    In fact, my Windows is in Spanish. I live in Mexico and the computer was purchased here. There have been occasions where that determined the language of software that installed by default. But in this case, I am not restricted to Spanish, but rather given a choice among five European languages. And besides that, I have always downloaded the Xara software in English... from 2014 up until 2020... always on Windows in Spanish. (I have WDP and P&GD). It was never a problem.
    While I speak Spanish, I know the software in English (my mother tongue)... and I don't want to relearn it. The reality is that if I'm unable to install in English, I will never purchase an update again. I don't get why Xara would prohibit it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,688

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    if ypur windows is in spanish that may be the issue - you could try changing it to english, installing xara, and then changing windows back after... ok you did not need to do this before, but it may be worth a try ?
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Morelos, Mexico
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    Thanks, handrawn. Sorry, I didn't thank you in the previous post... yours and Gary's mentally merged in my noggin.
    I can't change Windows to English without purchasing it and installing it. It was not an option when I bought the computer. If it had been, I definitely would have Windows in English.
    Still, I don't get that I was always able to install the Xara software in English in the past on computers with Windows in Spanish. Nor that multiple languages are offered, but not English.
    To me, it is either a glitch on Xara's end, or they have started a new policy since last March. In either case, it does not encourage me to upgrade in the future.
    Again, thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,688

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    you should be able to

    see here:

    https://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001873.htm

    does this help ?
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    Microsoft have language packs that you can install.

    Start Button > Settings > Time & Language
    In the left hand side panel, click Language
    Under Preferred Languages click Add A Language

    English is one of the options.


    Handrawn's has pictures, follow that one.
    Last edited by Chris M; 01 March 2021 at 08:41 PM. Reason: added last line

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,688

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    good point there chris - maybe english is missing
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: WDP interface language

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    good point there chris - maybe english is missing
    I think you misread, or I've not explained well. English IS there as an option.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •