Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default I'm doing something wrong....

...but I can't see what.

Hi all,

I'm new to website publishing so please assume I know nothing.

I'm stuck at home with not much work at the moment, so to fill my time, I thought I'd try updating my own website, which previously was done by someone else.

The guy who did my last website said he used Xara Magix, so I bought a copy of that and used one of their pre-made templates.

I've made a five-page website that looks great when I preview it on my computer. The problem comes when I upload it. What appears is clearly the website I wrote, the photos are there but the text grows in size and looks a complete mess.

Is there a process I should be going through before uploading to get the format right?

It looked so bad I replaced it with a blank page that had a reconstruction message on it but when I uploaded that the text disappreared and all that's left is a white sheet.

Can someone tell me where I'm going wrong?

One last question: When you upload a website, does it automatically delete/replace the previous website?

Thanks in advance

Jever

Default Re: I'm doing something wrong....

you will need to post here your xara WEB/XAR file - or reload your site and supply a link, otherwise it is guesswork
    -------------------------------
    Nothing lasts forever...

Upload your site as you did originally and view it. If it looks funky press ctrl+F5 and see if that fixes it. If not post back here.

Hi,

Well this is weird, I uploaded it again and the text looks fine now.

Here it is: https://www.eyork.uk/index.htm

Is there any way I can get it to fill the entire screen instead of just being a strip down the middle?

By the way, what happens to the preceding website when you upload? Does it automatically get replaced/deleted?

Jever