Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    165

    Default Photo Tool in Pro+

    I am trying to assign Corel After Shot as the Photo Tool in the desktop version of Pro+. I have entered it in Utilities/Options/Photo Editing but when I open a .jpg I still get the XPE program. When I return to the Photo Editing window it still lists After Shot. What am I missing here? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,289

    Default Re: Photo Tool in Pro+

    you did press apply ?

    also make sure you have set it to the correct executable file, some programs have more than one, check it is the same path as in the shortcut you use to open it directly

    I don't have after shot; painter works ok
    -------------------------------
    Idiocy is memetic

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    14,021

    Default Re: Photo Tool in Pro+

    When I had similar problems I changed the Bitmap transfer to Always use PNG.
    I am using Affinity Photo.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    165

    Default Re: Photo Tool in Pro+

    The file listed works when double-clicked in file Explorer. The Apply and Always Use PNG are applied. Pro+ is opened as Administrator. Pro+ just uses its own photo program, XPE. Maybe I am not initiating it correctly. I have been double-clicking on the photo, imported or opened. The photo is a .jpg.

    It might be an AfterShot problem and not Xara. I will keep exploring. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,289

    Default Re: Photo Tool in Pro+

    ok I looked at this

    after shot is a dedicated camera RAW editor

    1] you cannot use PNG - the program does not open PNG

    2] you could use JPEG, but I do not know if you can force xara pro+ to use JPEG, the three options I know are automatic/BMP/PNG non of which work with AS - it opens but no file imported

    3] in order to get the program to open at all from within xara I had to resolve a security issue:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cas warning.png 
Views:	35 
Size:	24.2 KB 
ID:	128780

    so if it is not opening at all on your system from within xara, your security software may be blocking it [it opens fine directly and opens JPEG directly]

    my verdict is it does not work - unless acorn or someone else knows how to force the transfer as JPEG...
    -------------------------------
    Idiocy is memetic

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    165

    Default Re: Photo Tool in Pro+

    This is excellent information, Handrawn. I have to concur with your conclusion that this dog won't hunt. Thanks for the discovery.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19,289

    Default Re: Photo Tool in Pro+

    you are most welcome - JPEG is not a good format for general editing, being lossy, which is probably why xara do not give the option; post-processing photos is rather specific
    -------------------------------
    Idiocy is memetic

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •