Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,387

    Default Template goes missiing if not used

    Since my primary use of Pro+ is for making stereograms, I will frequently leave a blank custom template, 6 pages with filled rectangles and various objects I used all the time, open for the next day.

    If I do not add anything to the template, it is gone the next day and replaced with my default template. I know I could make my stereogram template my default template but I don't want to do this.

    Not a huge loss, but just a little annoying.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,500

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Gary, are you at all saving the file with File > Save Template?
    I have 6 redesigned templates I regularly use and have never lost any.

    No need to then keep it open. File > New > Template.
    Key Press: Alt-F-N-↑↑↑-Enter will open the last saved Template, if you have not amended the XML file.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,930

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    out of interest what keystroke is the three arrows?
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?
    it is better to say nothing and appear a fool, than to open your mouth and confirm it is so
    and a donkey is always best left to bray alone...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,500

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    out of interest what keystroke is the three arrows?
    The Up Arrow three times.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,387

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Acorn, after 25 years, I am perfectly capable of opening Xara, and from File > New... opening my template.
    If I move one element in the new template, and exit, then the next time I open Pro+ or Pro X, the template will be there. But if the template has been opened, even though unused, it should remain l open the next time the app is opened.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,930

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    The Up Arrow three times.

    Acorn
    ok so if I do that it will open the 'custom' template on my menu - is that the same as 'last saved template' ?
    -------------------------------
    what can I say ?
    it is better to say nothing and appear a fool, than to open your mouth and confirm it is so
    and a donkey is always best left to bray alone...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,500

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Acorn, after 25 years, I am perfectly capable of opening Xara, and from File > New... opening my template.
    If I move one element in the new template, and exit, then the next time I open Pro+ or Pro X, the template will be there. But if the template has been opened, even though unused, it should remain l open the next time the app is opened.
    Gary, there was no offence offered. i was trying to determine where your application was failing you.

    I leave things open in XPro+ all the time and never lose them until I have an application crash.
    You have advised previously on having to re-activate XPro+ on an almost daily basis.

    It would seem that the two cases are related.

    My next enquiry might have been for you to close and re-open your application to check if the new file created from your template was still there immediately and also on the following day.

    As you said it is something that can be lived with.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,387

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Acorn - If I open a new custom template in Pro X or Pro+ and do not do anything, just exit the program, when I reopen, the template is gone. Both versions of 17.

    The problem with logging in happens when I install an update, or the program closed unexpectedly. Otherwise all is good if after being asked to log in, I close and then Run as Administrator so I don't think the two are related.

    Go to File > New... and open any template. Do not do anything. Exit out and reopen Pro+. Is that template still there?
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,500

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    ok so if I do that it will open the 'custom' template on my menu - is that the same as 'last saved template' ?
    Your Templates are store in a folder: C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Designer Pro+\Templates\ENG\.
    Alonside is a Templates.xml file.

    If you edit this in a text editor, you can rearrange the order and change the description of your template list.

    Regardless of the ordering, a newly added template always seems to be listed immediately above Animation & Blank photo.
    I then add in the new template to my re-ordered list and sanity is restored.

    On my set-up, invoking Custom appears as an A4 Portrait Print document, so "custom" and "last saved template" are two distinct XAR files.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    13,500

    Default Re: Template goes missiing if not used

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Acorn - If I open a new custom template in Pro X or Pro+ and do not do anything, just exit the program, when I reopen, the template is gone. Both versions of 17.
    The problem with logging in happens when I install an update, or the program closed unexpectedly. Otherwise all is good if after being asked to log in, I close and then Run as Administrator so I don't think the two are related.
    Go to File > New... and open any template. Do not do anything. Exit out and reopen Pro+. Is that template still there?
    Gary, that behaviour has been there since at least version10.

    It might be I work differently to you and if I have opened a template it is usually auto backed up by the time I close the application.

    Try switching to the Text tool and clicking the canvas, closing and re-opening.
    Mine sticks and it has no History. The key thing is there must be a * after Untitlednn (e.g., Untitled2 *) for Xara to save internally and re-open the document.

    In you Backups folder, Xara only adds a OpenDocList_0000nnnn_XtremeProSub.txt file whenever a backup is due and a change has occurred since the last file.
    An unmarked Untitlednn file is therefore not seen as a change and it never recorded.

    It is acting the same way if you were to press Save. Nothing is added to the Recent File List as no change was made.

    I also have Options > Backups set to backup and restore on open & close.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •