Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Xara Designer Pro X 17 new user questions

Hello. This is my first post here. Hope everyone is doing well. This last December, my daughter purchased Xara Designer Pro X 17 as a present for me. I've wanted a copy for a while now. I have been using CorelDRAW for almost 30 years (since 1991 - version 2) and I'm currently using CDGS 2017. They pretty much discontinued upgrades in favor of a subscription plan (BTW, no offense, but I don't do subscriptions for software.) I was using Xara Xtreme 5, and I loved the way it handled text. In CDGS you have to convert the text between artistic and paragraph to do what Xara Designer Pro X 17 does on the fly. I do have some questions:
    1. When exporting PDFs, I lose my page names on multiple page projects. In CorelDRAW, the page names are converted into bookmarks. Is there a way to fix that?
    2. The second question has to do with the upgrade service. It seems that I have a year's service included with my purchase. (By the way, the backup DVD was purchased as well.) What I wanted to know is, if I switched computers, and did a reinstall from the disc, would I be able to download the updates I had after the year is over without purchasing the additional service?
    Thank you for any help you can offer.
    Joe

Default Re: Xara Designer Pro X 17 new user questions

1. When exporting PDFs, I lose my page names on multiple page projects. In CorelDRAW, the page names are converted into bookmarks. Is there a way to fix that?
    Within the PDF Export dialogue box select Advanced Options / Layers and ensure Generate Bookmarks is checked - with Adobe Reader you will see the page thumbnails, but you can select the file symbol to show exported page names. This option is however greyed out for Commercial printing as you might expect. There are lots of custom options too.