Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1

    Unhappy Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    I use XPE as my bitmap editor, have never used anything else, and now it's gone. With it, filters have gone too, all the filters.

    What is a person to do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    38,859

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    What product are you using now Ray?
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    What product are you using now Ray?
    Xara Designer Pro X 16.3.0.57723 DL x64 Oct 25 2019

    with an expired update service which generates 3 hugely irritating pop ups every time the program launches :-(

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,367

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    when you say it is gone... do you mean that it no longer works... even though it is actiavte in the program options?
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    38,859

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    I think that these functions have been for some time incorporated into the Photo Tool.

    But if you go to C/ Program Files > Xara etc. and drill down to your product then open the Xara Picture Editor folder, and double click on the XaraPictureEditor.exe file it will open the picture editor.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,367

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    true, and it should still open in the program as well if it is set on the bitmap editing tab of options - it does in P&G 16, don't have XDP 16
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,668

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    It is still there in Utilities > Options > Photo Editing > Editing Bitmaps: tick Use XPE.

    Do you have this set?
    What happens when you double-click an image?

    For the Filters, Utilities > Options > Effects & Plugins.
    Have you linked to their location?

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  8. #8

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    I hope this provides some clues. Thank you for your time, guys. xxx
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,668

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    Ray, thank you for the detail.

    The first daily pop-up (possibly) and the other two can be zapped by altering the folder names of C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Designer Pro X\16\Online to C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Designer Pro X\16\OnlineXXX & C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Designer Pro X\16\UPS to C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Designer Pro X\16\UPSXXX.

    The Effects Tool is Ctrl+F5, under the Photo Tool, seventh icon in.

    If XPE is opening then the application is fine just Windows is hiding it away.
    Use Win Key + Tab to see behind or Alt+Tab to get to it.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,367

    Default Re: Bitmap Editor XPE Gone :-(

    firstly - does your xara program work on your new computer? - you can install it on two, as you probably know, but as your update service is expired that woiuld now install at the version you last purchased - filters should be transferrable, if you have problems let us know

    what I see in your PDF is a computer that may be playing up, and that may be a sign that it is time to seriously think about moving over

    the magix nags acorn has just covered

    are you having issues with any other programs? - if you are, that is more evidence the computer may be on the way out; if not then it might be a disk corruption / failing disk that is preventing access to XPE in the normal way

    windows hiding behind others can be a sign of video or memory issue, or again a dsic issue with regard to page/swap file; it happen occasionally which is just one of those things, but if it becomes 'the norm' you should at least make sure your graphics and other drivers are up to date, run memory and disk checks

    if problems persist a reinstall of the program may help, but may not; and if it is a hardware issue, it will come back
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •