Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: PNG HELP!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    55

    Question PNG HELP!

    https://steampunkdelta8.com

    look at the big cogwheel with the site name on top

    That was and still is inserted in Pro v17 of Xara Web Designer as a PNG

    Any idea when I upload the site it has a weird square background on it now that kinda matches the background but obviously looks totally wack!!! That background square behind the site logo/name is NOT seen in the program only shows when uploading the site

    How can I make it so the PNG that I spent a long time removing the background from what was a JPG file, actually shows as a PNG online and goes OVER the existing background without creating a 2nd background to go over the existing background?

    How frustrating.

    (Best viewed on a desktop to see my issue better)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,177

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    the file on your published site is a JPG, not a PNG, so there is a background to it

    that is really all I can say... if you inserted it as PNG then it must have been converted to JPG when publishing

    I understand there are various ways that this can happen, such as having it grouped with something, but i do not build websites myself so cannot be more specific

    nothing in a xara file is HTML; HTML is only generated on publishing; that may explain why it only appears when you publish
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    the weird thing is I noticed on the pricing page it looks fine, but it's a repeating object so IDK why on the index and about us doesn't look ok?

    weird...................

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,177

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    yes, on the pricing page it ia a PNG

    sorry, I cannot analyse your HTML, like I said I am not a webmaster... [just a user ] but hopefully someone will be along who can
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    yes, on the pricing page it ia a PNG

    sorry, I cannot analyze your HTML, like I said I am not a webmaster... [just a user ] but hopefully, someone will be along who can
    I Inserted it on the HOME (index) page as a png and did repeat object. I will just wait for egg and them to see what their brains think - there is something going on here prolly a simple option or setting or such. I tried playing around with it and even deleting and reinserting it to no avail.

    Thx for the help tho

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,177

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    you are welcome it's probably something simple when you know how, it always is...
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    Quote Originally Posted by drtechnology View Post
    https://steampunkdelta8.com

    look at the big cogwheel with the site name on top

    That was and still is inserted in Pro v17 of Xara Web Designer as a PNG

    Any idea when I upload the site it has a weird square background on it now that kinda matches the background but obviously looks totally wack!!! That background square behind the site logo/name is NOT seen in the program only shows when uploading the site

    How can I make it so the PNG that I spent a long time removing the background from what was a JPG file, actually shows as a PNG online and goes OVER the existing background without creating a 2nd background to go over the existing background?

    How frustrating.

    (Best viewed on a desktop to see my issue better)
    Right click the image, choose "web properties" from the pop-up menu, click the "image" tab, select "PNG(Best for graphics) option, click OK... that should sort it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,389

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    Inserting as a PNG does not mean the XDA saves it as such.

    Select the image on your design page.
    In Web Properties > Image > web image type and tick PNG.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    38,648

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    What's odd howsomever is that it's exported as JPEG on the home page but PNG on the Pricing page.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,389

    Default Re: PNG HELP!

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    What's odd howsomever is that it's exported as JPEG on the home page but PNG on the Pricing page.
    'cos it is a different image. Either the first two have something touching or overlapping or the Pricing image was added separately.
    The fix is still valid.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •