Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: http or https

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,815

    Default http or https

    Hi folks. Client has SSL, do I put https or http or none and just www._____.com?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_1.png 
Views:	12 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	128170  
    Owner/Creative Director @ Designfacet
    ____________________________________________
    Xara Designer Pro X 17.1.0.60486 DL x64 Oct 29 2020

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,393

    Default Re: http or https

    behzad, make it without the protocol.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,815

    Default Re: http or https

    Ok, so just www._______.com ?
    When I do that, and hit ok, going back and it put its own http:// before it.
    Owner/Creative Director @ Designfacet
    ____________________________________________
    Xara Designer Pro X 17.1.0.60486 DL x64 Oct 29 2020

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,393

    Default Re: http or https

    Well, add https://www_____.com to override it.

    I usually add my sitemap.xml using an on-line service and FTP, bypassing nanny Xara.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: http or https

    I'm willing to be shot down here...but...
    I go with the https://name-of-site.whatever. This brings up https:// prefix when someone types the site name directly into the address bar. Using www returns http://.

    I could be wrong. I quite often am.

  6. #6

    Default Re: http or https

    Chris,

    Yes and no, it all depends what is programmed at the remote end.
    I have this in my .htaccess at my root www folder:
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\. [NC]
    RewriteRule ^ https://www.mysite.com%{REQUEST_URI} [R=301,L,NE]
    </IfModule>


    This forces HTTPS and adds www if it is missing. Writing http://www.mysite.com or mysite.com brings up https://www.mysite.com every time.
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    I'm willing to be shot down here...but...
    I go with the https://name-of-site.whatever. This brings up https:// prefix when someone types the site name directly into the address bar. Using www returns http://.

    I could be wrong. I quite often am.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: http or https

    behzad was asking if it mattered what was written in the Xara Website URL section. Whatever you write there reflects in the sitemap.xml. The bit I'm vague on is if that affects the way the URL is handled if typed directly into the address bar without any http prefix.

    Editing, or creating, an .htaccess will ensure https is enforced provided you have an SSL certificate with your hosting.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,815

    Default Re: http or https

    Very informative. I even wonder if we need xara to create a site map, since google may already do that.
    Owner/Creative Director @ Designfacet
    ____________________________________________
    Xara Designer Pro X 17.1.0.60486 DL x64 Oct 29 2020

  9. #9

    Default Re: http or https

    Behzad,

    Like Acorn, I use an external service to make a site map. Google crawls your site, and uses your site map in the process, if any. A good site map is a valuable SEO asset that you can use to point Google and others in the right direction.

    Quote Originally Posted by behzad View Post
    Very informative. I even wonder if we need xara to create a site map, since google may already do that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,815

    Default Re: http or https

    Care to tell me what that external service is?
    Owner/Creative Director @ Designfacet
    ____________________________________________
    Xara Designer Pro X 17.1.0.60486 DL x64 Oct 29 2020

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •