Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,758

    Thumbs down cloud xara and magix xara

    So now and then some of you post a file to help with a question. I download it and run it on my Xara pro, not the + version and it says
    it was made with a different version.

    Is this really the sign of consistency? Considering they are both Xara and made by the same team? No other software has this kind of complication.
    So now what happens? Do I miss out on what the + users used in their xara? Does it screw up mine? Or dont tell me, tough luck move from Magix to the cloud?

    Is this backward compatibility , I hate to call it that. I have a name for it but refrain from using it.
    www.designfacet.com
    Owner/Creative Director at DesignFacet

    Xara Designer Pro X17



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    982

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    We're back to the SAAS and outright buy. Designer + is SAAS and receives updates/improvements on the fly. Designer Pro and the rest of the Magix/Xara family receive their updates in timed releases.

    Designer + will always be a different version to Designer pro, but 99% of the time everything will be compatible. Ever get the 'so and so font isn't installed'? Works anyway...similar thing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,068

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    It's always been that way. If I created a xar file in Xara Designer Pro X 10 and attached it here, a user who opened it and only had Xara Designer Pro X 9 would receive that warning. Simarly if I created a file in Xara Designer Pro + and you were to open it in Xara Designer Pro X 10.

    If you have earlier versions of Xara Designer still installed on your machine, try opening your latest version xar file in it. You'll get the exact same warning.

    Backward compatibility is maintained but if the file has newer features they may not work in your version.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Quadro 2000 Graphics Card + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 17 + Xara 3D Maker 7

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,025

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    sorry to disagee behzad, but all ongoing software has this issue, potentially; if things stood still we would all still be doing our drawing with charcoal sticks on the cave wall...

    progress is not [always] going to go the way that pleases everyone, but progress things do; - I find the the notification [warning] useful, so I can watch out for any issues resulting from 'newer features' that egg mentioned
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,201

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    behzad, it is just noise. The pop-up is an Information notice when there is a Xara icon rather than a Warning sign.

    More importantly, you should be checking that the Smart Shapes do not have a Use After Name in the Names gallery as the object will only then render as an image and not provide functionality or editorial capability in a earlier XDA.

    I build in Pro+ and then test back all the way to v11 and I cannot think of any specific instance where I had a problem.
    Xara should be praised for this backward compatibility.

    A paraphrase of Egg's summary.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,758

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    Thanks, so I was over reacting?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,025

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    yep
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Currently New York State
    Posts
    566

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    Actually I think something else is going on with Magix. Typically in the past we would have patch updates on Pro during the summer and a new version released end of September/October time frame. We have not seen any updates since March and no patches. Pro + it seems is having updates every couple weeks. So why has Magix not rolled out a new patch?

    And no I don't want to go to Pro + I would like to get what Xara and Magic said I would get with the price of the Pro.

    I know, kind of beating a dead horse.

    Ray

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,025

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    as i understand it, magix are only responsible for compiling and releasing updates - on that basis the first question might be, have they benn given anything new to compile ?
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,758

    Default Re: cloud xara and magix xara

    The dead horse is coming back to life as long as xara keeps changing their marketing plans. I too do not need the cloud and can wait on the updates but Magix does not even send out a newsletter. Also I feel like an outcaster having to wait for a patch from Magix to catch-up with the gang here at the fire-camp of cloud +. To me it is a division made between the two camps.
    www.designfacet.com
    Owner/Creative Director at DesignFacet

    Xara Designer Pro X17



 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •