Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,367

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Egg,

    No-one's saying that can't be done ... it was the background animation that was the problem.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Kildare, Ireland
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    You can loop a short video clip for background animation, there's been a few posts about it before. It's not too difficult in Xara from what I remember though I'd need a refresher myself. You can see the background video that they use in source code "bg.mp4"
    XT-CMS - a self-hosted CMS for Xara Designers - Xara + CMS Demo with blog & ecommerce shopping cart system.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    When you look at the code detail https://greymattersuk.com/, the PNG images have been placed in a 'Slick' carousel; there are 8 x PNG images in a loop. The carousel sits in front of the background video, which in this case does not appear to do very much. The perception of depth in the PNG images has been created similar I guess to Egg's well explained approach.

    It was fairly easy to mimic the effect using my third party slider, minus the usual controls; I did not bother with the video background. You could of course do the whole thing as an intro-video with your chosen video editor and have it run in the background.

    Footnote:it would be interesting to gauge how long it takes for a visitor to get the headline message from this site?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,636

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Hi Keith, the OP never said he particularly wanted just the background animations, just whether it could be done in Xara

    Anyway, here's a link to one that has a background animation.

    LINK

    Initiostar & xtom. My approach was similar but I used a animated gif behind the cycle widget.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Quadro 2000 Graphics Card + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 17 + Xara 3D Maker 7

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,396

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    Hi Keith, the OP never said he particularly wanted just the background animations, just whether it could be done in Xara
    Anyway, here's a link to one that has a background animation.
    LINK
    Egg, I think I'd visit your site any day.

    I think the OP's question has been more than answered "constructively".

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,367

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Excellent work Egg.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,636

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Thanks Acorn & Keith. One issue I can't overcome is there's a subtle difference in the shade of black between the pasteboard and that of the animated gif (which has a transparent background but may be a 256 colour restriction?).

    Anyway just for fun here's a variation.

    LINK
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Quadro 2000 Graphics Card + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 17 + Xara 3D Maker 7

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Kildare, Ireland
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Nice examples Egg. Making the gif fill the entire background would probably be needed so that would ensure no difference between pasteboard. Then you would probably need a bigger gif for higher resolution. Not sure how file size of gif would compare with mp4 at the end but yeah plenty of possibilites for the OP to ponder on and try.
    XT-CMS - a self-hosted CMS for Xara Designers - Xara + CMS Demo with blog & ecommerce shopping cart system.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,396

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Surely just changing the Pasteboard colour to #101010 would work?

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    StPeters, MO USA
    Posts
    9,655

    Default Re: Is this even possible with xara software

    Egg, I have no idea how you did that, but it's great, thank you!!!
    A tutorial would be appreciated by me and others.
    Larry a.k.a wizard509

    Never give up. You will never fail, but you may find a lot of ways that don't work.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •