Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sitemap

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Currently New York State
    Posts
    540

    Default Sitemap

    My site has been getting a lot of Soft 404 errors in Goggle console. My hosting provider believes it is because the site map says http//www.p-s-s.com instead of https//www.p-s-s.com. Because of this when I check Google some of these pages appear to be de-listed but the pages are working fine. My provider also suggested taking out the www portion and they would set up the redirect to just be p-s-s.com

    So when I change the address in Xara for the site map and put in https//, the sitemap that Xara makes shows
    http// https//p-s-s.com.

    Any body have any idea how to just get Xara to put only https// and get rid of the http//?

    Ray

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,315

    Default Re: Sitemap

    Quote Originally Posted by RKissane View Post
    My site has been getting a lot of Soft 404 errors in Goggle console. My hosting provider believes it is because the site map says http//www.p-s-s.com instead of https//www.p-s-s.com. Because of this when I check Google some of these pages appear to be de-listed but the pages are working fine. My provider also suggested taking out the www portion and they would set up the redirect to just be p-s-s.com

    So when I change the address in Xara for the site map and put in https//, the sitemap that Xara makes shows
    http// https//p-s-s.com.

    Any body have any idea how to just get Xara to put only https// and get rid of the http//?

    Ray
    Ray, the correct protocol is "https://".

    All you need do is enter your "www.p-s-s.com" detail into Publish > Other web host > Other web host settings > Website URL. As you are then Publishing to an http:// or https:// location, the Sitemap is ignorant of where it is and all should work.
    Using "https://www.p-s-s.com" will probably work as well.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Currently New York State
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Sitemap

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Ray, the correct protocol is "https://".

    All you need do is enter your "www.p-s-s.com" detail into Publish > Other web host > Other web host settings > Website URL. As you are then Publishing to an http:// or https:// location, the Sitemap is ignorant of where it is and all should work.
    Using "https://www.p-s-s.com" will probably work as well.

    Acorn
    Acorn, I tried that and Xara put the http// in front of the https//www.p-s-s.com on the sitemap.

    I am wondering if because the Google Console is still looking at http//www.p-s-s.com and the site has https then this is the reason that Google is seeing errors. When Google Console looks at https//www.p-s-s.com it does not see errors but Google has de-listed some pages that should be there and I can only think it is caused by the soft errors under the http//. Maybe I have to tell Google to quit looking at http// and only look at https// not sure how to do that yet.

    Ray

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,315

    Info Re: Sitemap

    Ray, I can see https://www.p-s-s.com/sitemap.xml & http://www.p-s-s.com/sitemap.xml are both referencing http:// links.

    You have not indicated if you just used "www.p-s-s.com" as the website URL to get the current files.
    You also seem oblivious to the need for the colon in "https://www.p-s-s.com", if you only used "https//www.p-s-s.com" then Xara would build up the site map using a base URL of "http://https//www.p-s-s.com".

    I have taken your current sitemap.xml and changed the Protocol to "https://" for all you webpage links.
    You can do the same with a simple text editor (Not MS Word!) and use the Explore Web Space button to locate, delete and replace sitemap.xml.

    TG doesn't handle uploads of XML files so it has been zipped. Window will unpack it for you when you open and drag to a different location.

    sitemap.zip.
    You would have to redo this operation each time you added or deleted webpages (not content).

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Currently New York State
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Sitemap

    Acorn,

    Thanks you figure it out. I kept leaving that colon off and that was causing all the problems.

    Ray

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,315

    Default Re: Sitemap

    Quote Originally Posted by RKissane View Post
    Acorn,
    Thanks you figure it out. I kept leaving that colon off and that was causing all the problems.
    Ray
    Ray, thank you.

    Do be aware that if you are adding the Protocol (https://) then http://www.p-s-s.com/sitemap.xml is now showing https:// too.

    Try without the Protocol at all and see if if you get all https://, all http:// or a mix of both.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •