Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,356

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    gcellison, thank you for the critique.

    The Name gallery is unchanged in XDPXv17 and has been in other Pro version through v5 to date.
    The one I like most is the Slices aspect in the Name gallery as this allows you to transform and change shape, when you change a linked other shape.

    As you surmise, a lot of innovation that seems now to have been squandered.
    The question I pose is XDPX worth upgrading to to get these extras?
    I find it sad that someone's job is to cut out functionality to repacking the remainder into a "web" or a "photo" product.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Morelos, Mexico
    Posts
    149

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    gcellison, thank you for the critique.

    The Name gallery is unchanged in XDPXv17 and has been in other Pro version through v5 to date.
    The one I like most is the Slices aspect in the Name gallery as this allows you to transform and change shape, when you change a linked other shape.

    As you surmise, a lot of innovation that seems now to have been squandered.
    The question I pose is XDPX worth upgrading to to get these extras?
    I find it sad that someone's job is to cut out functionality to repacking the remainder into a "web" or a "photo" product.

    Acorn
    I couldn't agree more.

    A quick correction:

    Quote Originally Posted by gcellison View Post
    A majority of the Live Effects are found in WDP under the Photo tool slideout, but a few that are more sophisticated are not (3d bump map, AV Bros, Redfield, Mehdi). Again, the work can be done in Xtreme 5 and copied over to a WDP project, as long as no further subsequent modifications are needed.
    Upon further investigation, I found that since the effects are not present in WDP, they are lost if the entity is copied over. So those live effects are unavailable to a WDP project.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,559

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    interesting isn't it

    xara GmbH may have learn't the affininty lesson re cloud - ie one program for one job; period
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,356

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    Quote Originally Posted by gcellison View Post
    Upon further investigation, I found that since the effects are not present in WDP, they are lost if the entity is copied over. So those live effects are unavailable to a WDP project.
    Without playing, might this simply be that XWDP needs to point to the same location for the Plug-Ins?

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Morelos, Mexico
    Posts
    149

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Without playing, might this simply be that XWDP needs to point to the same location for the Plug-Ins?

    Acorn
    Interesting possibility. Unfortunately, I wouldn't know where to look or how to point to it. Novice.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    837

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    Quote Originally Posted by gcellison View Post
    Interesting possibility. Unfortunately, I wouldn't know where to look or how to point to it. Novice.
    Click the FX button (nested with the photo tool), then click Setup.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FX1.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	38.0 KB 
ID:	126606

    Click Setup, then Add Folder and browse to wherever the Photoshop plugins are hiding.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FX2.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	69.8 KB 
ID:	126607

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,356

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    Click the FX button (nested with the photo tool), then click Setup.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FX1.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	38.0 KB 
ID:	126606

    Click Setup, then Add Folder and browse to wherever the Photoshop plugins are hiding.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FX2.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	69.8 KB 
ID:	126607
    Thanks Chris.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,559

    Default Re: Did you know... II

    I also tick the enable host specific plugins box
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •