Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2

    Default Web Domain XARA and Magix- Confused.

    Some years ago, I set up my website using Magix Web Designer 16 premium. At the time I was posting my website up to XARA I had at the time created a sub-directory which had my domain name in. So, the main directory was "http://orueke.xara.hosting/" and the sub directory was "http://taep.co.uk/".

    All was well, and has been for a few years now. However, I started to run out of the "M" storage space. I was advised to buy a copy of Xara Designer Pro X which I did. I still had the same problems with having just 2GB of storage.

    I was told I would need to buy an "L" storage package. Which I have done and this has given me 10GB. This storage is run by Magix. I have been posting the site website up to a website which has been made by Magix combining my email address, and ending in .magix.net/. I have tried to create a sub-folder with my domain name www.taep.co.uk and have posted to website into that folder. but this has made no difference. The web address is still the the Magix email address.

    Can anyone kindly tell me how I can move my domain name from Xara across to Magix? I have posted a number of tickets up to Magix support, but am still stuck.

    Many thanks in advance.

    Richard
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Example2 XARA.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	120.6 KB 
ID:	126327   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Example1 XARA.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	118.1 KB 
ID:	126328  


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,104

    Default Re: Web Domain XARA and Magix- Confused.

    I think you have posted this new thread twice... did you mean to post something different the second time?
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,674

    Default Re: Web Domain XARA and Magix- Confused.

    Steve - The post was moderated and so I think Richard posted several times. I approved the post and deleted the duplicates.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,104

    Default Re: Web Domain XARA and Magix- Confused.

    thanks Gary
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lam, Bavaria-Germany
    Posts
    448

    Default Re: Web Domain XARA and Magix- Confused.

    As on every web space, a domain redirection must be made to a folder. Without the correct reference, the domain cannot know where the content is.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,104

    Default Re: Web Domain XARA and Magix- Confused.

    like ernie said, it would appear your taep.co.uk is still 'pointing' to your original xara hosting and not to the new magix hosting

    if so, you cannot change this from within the xara program, you need to access your domain through the control panel [or equivalent] of whoever supplied it, and change the settings there
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    483

    Default Re: Web Domain XARA and Magix- Confused.

    The OP opened another thread and I replied there.

    Instead of publishing to his domain name, he was publishing to either xara.hosting or magix.net with his domain name as a sub-folder. He should be publishing to his domain name directly, assuming that he actually owns the domain name.
    John
    Xara DPX(16.2.0.56957)

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •