Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to choke

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    1

    Default How to choke

    After working with online images for what seems forever, I started working with a tee shirt printer. He wants me to choke the images (making one image slightly smaller than the other so a white base can be printed under the main image). As I am new to the print world, I am confused on how to do this. Seems that PSD has this built in. I am guessing Designer X16 can also do it, but I can't find any docs about this. Maybe I am using the incorrect terminology? Any help with learning or understanding using Xara Designer X16 this would be very helpful.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: How to choke

    Is he asking you to assign a separation layer to his white? If he is using the inkjet t-shirt printers then his printer has up to six 'inks' and as many as eight. The t-shirt printers I am familiar with require two passes for printing a white under-layer. If you are using Xara and the printer requires two passes, then you print white on the first pass and the colors on the 2nd. You can do this by enabling/disabling separation layers. Your printer will either ask you for two files or they will perform the enable/disable on a file you provide that includes the white layer, which is nothing more than all layers combined. I abandoned t-shirt printers and returned to screening because the addition of multiple passes was persistently inaccurate.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,878

    Default Re: How to choke

    Welcome to TalkGraphics

    Chokes and spreads are printer's terms that have been around long before computer graphics. The only way I would know how to do this in Xara is to create an outline with the Contour Tool.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,467

    Default Re: How to choke

    Hi jgkiefer, welcome to TG.

    I know nowt about printing but your question interested me enough to do a Google search. This is the best video I could find on this subject.

    LINK

    It explains what these terms mean but at the same time wouldn't be the best way of doing it in XD16. As Gary suggests the Contour tool is the way to go to achieve the same result, and don't try doing it via strokes/outlines/line-widths as in this video.

    Get back if you need more advise.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,878

    Default Re: How to choke

    Or maybe jgkeifer can post an example of what it is he needs choked.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,063

    Default Re: How to choke

    I could suggest one or two myself.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,387

    Default Re: How to choke

    i see a light flickering on as we speak..
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    StPeters, MO USA
    Posts
    9,606

    Default Re: How to choke

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    Hi jgkiefer, welcome to TG.

    I know nowt about printing but your question interested me enough to do a Google search. This is the best video I could find on this subject.

    LINK

    It explains what these terms mean but at the same time wouldn't be the best way of doing it in XD16. As Gary suggests the Contour tool is the way to go to achieve the same result, and don't try doing it via strokes/outlines/line-widths as in this video.

    Get back if you need more advise.

    Egg watched your link with interest leaned a few things I should probably should have known but didn't.
    Larry a.k.a wizard509

    Never give up. You will never fail, but you may find a lot of ways that don't work.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •