Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Default Two edge transparency?

    I cant seem to get the transparency right on my picture. It is rectangle and I want the left and right sides to have about an inch of gradual transparency. I can get it on one side easy. But the other side wont let me do it without messing with the first transparency setting. Anyone care to share the best way to do this?
    Thanks, Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,667

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    Sure. Create a Linear transparency from one side to the other. Then select Repeating from the Transparency Tiling menu.

    Reverse the start and ending values. From the Profile drop down select Profile 1.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Reversing.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	80.1 KB 
ID:	126176  
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    StPeters, MO USA
    Posts
    9,554

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    privatepratz Is this something like you are looking for?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Garden of the Gods Colorado.png 
Views:	13 
Size:	216.5 KB 
ID:	126179

    If so clone the photo and give it flat fill change color to what you need pref background color set transparency to repeating and move into place.
    Larry a.k.a wizard509

    Never give up. You will never fail, but you may find a lot of ways that don't work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    747

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    Just to give more options. My weapon of choice is to add a linear transparency, then double click to add more nodes and adjust the transparency of each node.

    0% in the middle, 20 for the next 2 outwards and 100% at the ends:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fade.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	65.8 KB 
ID:	126182

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,659

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    Just to give more options. My weapon of choice is to add a linear transparency, then double click to add more nodes and adjust the transparency of each node.

    0% in the middle, 20 for the next 2 outwards and 100% at the ends:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fade.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	65.8 KB 
ID:	126182
    This has been my weapon of choice after it years to uncover that you could add nodes and apply different transparency levels. You use the Tab key to move along nodes and the Arrow keys to reposition a node; a Tab click when the range bar is selected does something different altogether.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,667

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    Since we are bent on providing Mike too many solutions, here's one more. Apply Linear transparency to one side. Group the photo. Now you can apply a Linear (or any other kind of transparency) to the other side or to the entire image. Kind of a quirky feature but it can be useful.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,659

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Since we are bent on providing Mike too many solutions, here's one more. Apply Linear transparency to one side. Group the photo. Now you can apply a Linear (or any other kind of transparency) to the other side or to the entire image. Kind of a quirky feature but it can be useful.
    Gary, it is useful but you have to be Inside the Group to edit and so lose immediate interaction. That is until I discovered you can work with the Page & Layer gallery and select inside the Group that way or use Ctrl+Click; both allow the first set of transparency control points to be tweaked. Doing it your way also allow for Profiling.

    Now I am torn!

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Currently New York State
    Posts
    518

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    Learned something new again.

    I never new you could add nodes on a linear transparency.

    Ray

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,099

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    its been like that for quite a few years now - added back in the day when xara was still focusing on the vector tools....
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  10. #10

    Default Re: Two edge transparency?

    Thanks so much for the help. I found the most easy way to do a linear then group and redo linear. I am not an advance user. Thanks again, Mike

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •