Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    208

    Default White space above a vertical variant

    I'm having trouble with a website variant and white space above where a page is supposed to begin.

    My upper left hand corner of the page begins with position X = 0px and y = 0px. My page is w=415 px and h=2567. I've even checked the 'show page shadow' to find out if I have the position correctly.

    But -- I end up with white space above where the page is supposed to begin. Remember this is on a variant of a website - so when you view the opening page squish your browser so you can see the problem.

    I've never quite understood how Xara defines the above variables. But when you start a page at X and Y position at 0 - that should be the top left of the page. Correct?

    www.larrykrause.ca Only look at the opening page, because the rest are all out of whack.

    -Bill
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,844

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    Drag the Drag 0, 0 Point cross hairs up to where you want the page to start.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Drag Point.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	20.3 KB 
ID:	126177  
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    Thanks Gary - but I do think I'm doing it. Check the png. This has always driven me crazy on a few sites that I've built. Just can't figure it out.
    You'll see I dragged from the cross hairs to zero markers. Still the dreaded white space above on this particular variant.

    Under > page options > Grid and ruler > X= -16px and Y=1900. If I change both and X and Y to 0px and apply nothing seems to change.

    This is not happening on the full variant www.larrykrause.ca
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	drag point_png.PNG 
Views:	11 
Size:	129.4 KB 
ID:	126187  
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,001

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    Bill, show us your version of this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Grid & Ruler.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	48.7 KB 
ID:	126188

    Acorn

    P.S. The design file would be much the easier. PM it if you wish.
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,844

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    Does this help Bill?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	New top of page.png 
Views:	13 
Size:	31.7 KB 
ID:	126189  
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    Hi Acorn .. here are my page options > grid ruler. I bit different of course I'm using WD.

    I seem to recall one of your tutorials on Grids and Page margins. I'm going to search for that as well.

    Thanks for any ideas.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Page Options_X Y.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	130.1 KB 
ID:	126190  
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    Thanks @gwpriester - it does a bit. I'm going to add some color to my background so I can actually 'see' where the page starts and ends.
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    Gary and Acorn. By adding a light color to my page background I'm able to see where the page actually begins. And of course helps a great deal.

    I still haven't figured out how to do this with a white background. I must refers to Acorn's post on guides and pages.

    Thanks to both of you.

    -Bill
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,844

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    You can add a page color until you have extended the top of the page then once it is where you want it, reset the page color.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,001

    Default Re: White space above a vertical variant

    A quick check is Window > View Quality > Outline.
    In XWD(P), it is Alt-W-Q-O and back to Very High quality is Alt-W-Q-V.
    If you set up a New View, you can just move from one to the other and see your page in outline.
    I find adding Guides is much cleaner in outline so I keep that view with Guides showing as well.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •