Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 52
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,039

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Sent request to Rob.
    Cheers Gary.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Xara HQ, Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,332

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Hi Teeser, can you follow the instructions below and send me the log file when you have it? (PM probably is easiest). I can reply here again after receiving the log file

    1) Close Xara - Important! (effects of below will not take effect if the program is open)

    2) Go to start, type "run" and press enter. Type "regedit" and press enter.

    3) On the left hand side, please navigate to the following key:

    64bit: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Xara\WebDesignerPremium x64\16\Options\Publish

    4) Right-click on the Value "FTPTrace" > Edit > Change the value to "1".

    5) Close the register then open this program and keep it running: http://live.sysinternals.com/Dbgview.exe

    6) Run Xara and try to publish again. Debugview will capture information, when it times out, please go to File > Save as and send me the log file so we can see what is happening?

    Thanks
    Rob

  3. #23

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Cheers Gary.

    Acorn
    Hi Rob, as requested. Tried attaching and RTF file, this system didn't like it... Link below

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/2rznycobnd...6-Log.rtf?dl=0

    Many thanks, David

  4. #24

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob-Xar View Post
    Hi Teeser, can you follow the instructions below and send me the log file when you have it? (PM probably is easiest). I can reply here again after receiving the log file

    1) Close Xara - Important! (effects of below will not take effect if the program is open)

    2) Go to start, type "run" and press enter. Type "regedit" and press enter.

    3) On the left hand side, please navigate to the following key:

    64bit: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Xara\WebDesignerPremium x64\16\Options\Publish

    4) Right-click on the Value "FTPTrace" > Edit > Change the value to "1".

    5) Close the register then open this program and keep it running: http://live.sysinternals.com/Dbgview.exe

    6) Run Xara and try to publish again. Debugview will capture information, when it times out, please go to File > Save as and send me the log file so we can see what is happening?

    Thanks
    Rob
    Hi Rob, as requested. Tried attaching and RTF file, this system didn't like it... Link below

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/2rznycobnd...6-Log.rtf?dl=0

    Many thanks, David

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Xara HQ, Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,332

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Thank you for your log file. Can you try the below and see if that helps?

    1) Close all Xara programs. (Important! the changes won't be made or have any affect on the program if it is open, and values would be overwritten when you close it.)

    2) Go to Start > Run and type regedit then click OK.

    3) Navigate to the registry key for the version of program you are using:

    64bit: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Xara\WebDesignerPremium x64\16\Options\FTPLibcURL

    4) Change the value ConnectTimeout, LoginTimeout and ResponseTimeout to "20000" (this is the time in miliseconds, so this would be 20 seconds).

    5) Close the registry and open Xara

    Does the problem now appear?

    Thanks
    Rob

  6. #26

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Hi Rob, I changed: LoginTimeout and ResponseTimeout to "20000".

    No difference still timed out on FTP.

    An interesting thing.
    I loaded Xara onto another machine (iMac Using Parallels)
    Using my Virgin Broadband on wifi - Same issue - Timed Out

    Using my EE (Hotspot wifi frim Phone) - Worked Perfectly

    Tried using my EE Wifi on my Main Win10 PC - Timed out

    Thought please... Tks

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    I just spent a long time with this same timeout problem. I finally got it fixed after using the process of elimination. What I ended up doing was to delete the webhost ftp account I set up and created another one, but with the EXACT SAME SETTING. Now it works (so far). It seems to have been some hidden glitch in the ftp account set up.

    The way I got to this solution was to use another ftp account at the same host, and I kept all the other details unchanged. Same PW, same subdirectory, same server-host. That worked. So there was no other option. That's when I just deleted the first ftp account and set it up fresh. So although nothing visible changed, it's working right now.

    The optional sub-folder aspect isn't explained too clearly, but on Bluehost for an addon domain, I have to enter in the sub-folder box: /public_html/(folder name).

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Xara HQ, Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,332

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Ah sorry for the delay, caught up in lots and lots of stuff lately.

    Interesting it worked from your phone and not broadband, could possibly mean something local to your network is blocking the upload, such as a firewall..

    I have seen very occasionally an ISP block certain IP's, maybe if all else fails could contact them to check if its blocked

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    I'm new to Xara Web Designer and have the same fault when uploading to GoDaddy. I wondered whether it is possible to upload pages individually or in small groups; the theory being they would be uploaded before being timed-out. And will they work after individually being uploaded? Is there anyone with any relevant experience out there?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,312

    Default Re: FTP error: Timeout was reached

    Typically the timeout isn't the time taken for the whole upload, it's the time taken to establish communication, so the size of the upload is irrelevant.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •