Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First Logo

Default First Logo

This is first Logo I have done for anyone but myself, Please give opinion as I am still very much a student. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tjs.jpg 
Views:	351 
Size:	132.6 KB 
ID:	126052

Default Re: First Logo

I'm not a designer but there is something about this that bothers me, I think it's the flames and the marble shape don't really go together. Just my opinion of course so don't make anything of my statement.
    Larry a.k.a wizard509

Never give up. You will never fail, but you may find a lot of ways that don't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Gypsyjoe View Post
    This is first Logo I have done for anyone but myself, Please give opinion as I am still very much a student. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tjs.jpg 
Views:	351 
Size:	132.6 KB 
ID:	126052
    Okay, some critiques. Don't worry, these are things I'd tell anyone, so I'm not just being mean to you.

1.) It's TJ's Bike & Moped, i.e. TJBM, but the TJBM looks like NBM, which conflicts with something else...
    2.) The image then is suggested subconsciously that this is a flaming basketball and NBM might be National Basketball Museum or something else related to NBA?
    3.) the apostrophe-s looks weird, the s is floating on it's own. I'm not particularly a fan of the typeface, but that's not a problem as long as you treat the type with care.
    4.) Overall, when doing a logo, you want to do something that looks good in black and white before adding color and I think the image is very strong and would look great single color, but my question is 'how much does this have to do with bikes and mopeds?'
    5.) Overall, it's a good starting point. My instinct is that the logo image is intended to be possibly a flaming wheel while being original enough to separate itself from similar images, but this might be too far.