Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,403

    Default How big can xara website be?

    Well, currently working on a large website, please see stats below. I have 8G of Ram. I was wondering
    how big (Memory used: 381 MBytes) can my site get before I have to start worrying about running out of memory?

    Xara with the file open, without chrome hogging memory leaves me 5G or so.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_1.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	4.9 KB 
ID:	125788
    www.designfacet.com
    Owner/Creative Director at DesignFacet

    Xara Designer Pro



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    647

    Default Re: How big can xara website be?

    RAM isn't about how much data is in the project, it's about how that data is used. In your example very little RAM is needed because all you're asking it to do is display a picture (the stats). Buuut, if you select ALL your objects and as Xara to move them 5 pixels to the left, your RAM would scream OMG and possibly struggle.

    Here's an analogy that I often use to describe what RAM actually does. Bear in mind the guy works for a memory manufacturer when he states increasing RAM is the best upgrade you can give your computer.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ye6W6mMSPl0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,350

    Default Re: How big can xara website be?

    I find that video pretty naff Chris but I do agree with him. Memory is the best upgrade.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    647

    Default Re: How big can xara website be?

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    I find that video pretty naff Chris but I do agree with him. Memory is the best upgrade.

    It is naff, and the explanation is very basic, but it does a decent job of explaining where RAM sits in the order of things.
    If you think RAM is still the best option for upgrading you need to have a look at muti-core/multi-threading CPUs and NVMe SSDs. Nothing is a 'single' best upgrade.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    8,136

    Default Re: How big can xara website be?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    It is naff, and the explanation is very basic, but it does a decent job of explaining where RAM sits in the order of things.
    If you think RAM is still the best option for upgrading you need to have a look at muti-core/multi-threading CPUs and NVMe SSDs. Nothing is a 'single' best upgrade.
    Absolutely.

    Generally I would fit an SSD to an older computer before upgrading RAM or looking for a better CPU.

    How big can a Xara site can be? when you have an 8GB machine is a bit like asking How fast can a car go? when you have a Trabant. 8GB is a reasonable amount of RAM for most people.

    The real question is "How big a site can I expect to manage with my machine spec?", "What could I do to my machine to improve on that?", etc.

    Flip the question around: I want to make a Xara website, I expect it to have X pages and Y images, what kind of machine will I need to achieve this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,266

    Default Re: How big can xara website be?

    More RAM and split into sub-sites.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •