Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Licence

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,986

    Bug Licence

    Dear Xara...

    I really do want to read the licence.rtf in C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Designer Pro X\12\ or ...\15\ or ...\16\.
    It is unreadable too in C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Web Designer Premium\.

    Bug - In all cases the file open up into:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2019-11-25 15.20.28.png 
Views:	38 
Size:	22.1 KB 
ID:	125784

    It then fails in MS Word; other 'DTP' packages also fail: Xara fails to accept it as RTF! Update: it locks the application - cheers.

    Can this be rectified? You have had since 13 April 2016 to get this right.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,342

    Default Re: Licence

    the license is also there as a TXT document - possibly easier to read if you copy that text into a blank word doc [no spacing style], but still not formatted that well

    it does look sloppy
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,986

    Default Re: Licence

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    the license is also there as a TXT document - possibly easier to read if you copy that text into a blank word doc [no spacing style], but still not formatted that well it does look sloppy
    Nope, I want Word so I can perform DIFFs on different versions. Xara wants to get it right as it is its licence. Not having your Customer being able to read a legal document is not going to be much of an excuse.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,342

    Default Re: Licence

    maybe they would prefer you not to
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  5. #5

    Default Re: Licence

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Nope, I want Word so I can perform DIFFs on different versions. Xara wants to get it right as it is its licence. Not having your Customer being able to read a legal document is not going to be much of an excuse.

    Acorn
    With some/most decent text editors you can perform diffs on the text versions. Notepad++ can even do so.

    Not saying they need to use a proper rtf file...they should.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,986

    Default Re: Licence

    Quote Originally Posted by mwenz View Post
    With some/most decent text editors you can perform diffs on the text versions. Notepad++ can even do so.
    Not saying they need to use a proper rtf file...they should.
    I have Notepad++ and use that already but MS Word highlighting is more visual.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Xara HQ, Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,330

    Default Re: Licence

    logged as DDES-16368, I don't actually know what we use to produce the license file but it's the first I've seen anyone complain. Show's how many people read the license I guess lol.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,342

    Default Re: Licence

    not many I would think...
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,986

    Default Re: Licence

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob-Xar View Post
    logged as DDES-16368, I don't actually know what we use to produce the license file but it's the first I've seen anyone complain. Show's how many people read the license I guess lol.
    Thanks ROB, didn't thank you sooner as Broadband was dead. I would appreciate the prior versions to be rescued as well.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Licence

    Quick workaround: open it in a plaintext editor (Notepad for example), and delete the "u" in the first tag (\urtf1). Save it.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •