Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    179

    Default Well, this is embarrassing.

    I working with a variant for a smart phone and wanted to change the color of a button with a drop down menu. -- then I noticed that the mouseover layer for my button resided upon a text layer. Then I noticed I could not move that button group into the mouseover layer - hell - I couldn't even edit the button if I wanted to. My pointing won't let me select it. The button still works - it's just the button is on the wrong layer -- and I don't think I can move it anyway. Argh.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Xara page.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	71.4 KB 
ID:	125766  
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,266

    Default Re: Well, this is embarrassing.

    Drag the Text Layer above Mouse Off and Over to select.
    If it has to stay in the wrong place then use Solo mode.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Well, this is embarrassing.

    @acorn - Thanks Acorn.

    I was able to move the 'text layer' above the mouseoff and Over - I was able to select - but for some reason I cannot select any parts let alone the color of the button. Rather strange because I was able to duplicate the button etc in XD10. I'm wondering its because I already have the drop down menu set up. I could start again with a new button and add the drop down navigation but I'd like to find out what I'm doing wrong. I can't edit this button. I'd like to upload just one page but I don't know how to do that. So its a screen shot again.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	index_screen.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	235.0 KB 
ID:	125769  
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,350

    Default Re: Well, this is embarrassing.

    Hi Bill

    I'd like to upload just one page but I don't know how to do that.
    In Xara rename your file via 'Save As' and give it a name like 'single-page-upload'.

    Delete all but your index page and save.

    Then in your TG thread click Post Quick Reply.

    Type something like "Attached my problem web file"

    Then click the Go Advanced button bottom right.

    Scroll down this page until you see the Additional Options / Manage Attachments section.

    Click the Manage Attachments button

    This opens a new window, the File Upload Manager window

    Click the Upload button

    Either browse to your file or drag and drop it onto the Browse button

    Hit the upload button

    Once it shows in the bottom of the window click Close then in the original window click Submit reply.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	export.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	15.3 KB 
ID:	125773   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	export.png 
Views:	9 
Size:	78.7 KB 
ID:	125774  

    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Well, this is embarrassing.

    @egg Thanks for the instructions Egg. I have uploaded one of my favorite pages. I'm working on the iPhone variant with one button. My problem is I cannot edit the button. I have my navigation all set; though it won't show with the single page upload. I started things on the wrong foot when the layer 'text' ended up with the mouseoff button. I tried to move that out of the text layer and that wouldn't work. As @acorn suggested I moved the text layer above the mouseover mouseoff layers and that didn't solve the problem. All I want to do is change the color of the mouseoff stage because it looks like hell with the rest of my layout.

    Just can't figure out why all stages of the button are dimmed. I've enclosed the troubling page. Many thanks. -Bill-
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,266

    Info Re: Well, this is embarrassing.

    Bill, to get the Menu button into MouseOver and MouseOff layers, copy it to a new document and then copy it back into the one with the problem. Delete the old button.

    It is a NavBar so double-clik it and then in the NavBar Properties dialog, click the Ungroup to edit graphics button.
    Do read the Help on NavBar editing.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melfort, Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Well, this is embarrassing.

    @Acorn Thanks Acorn. The initial button was in rough shape, so I'm using a new button and everything lined up very well. I missed the 'ungroup to edit" in the Nav bar dialogue. Thanks very much for helping and pointing that out. Appreciate it.
    Bill Wood
    Expresiv Designs.
    Charity Web Design
    Xara Designer 5, Xd10, WD 365, WD Premium 12

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,266

    Default Re: Well, this is embarrassing.

    Quote Originally Posted by bwood View Post
    @Acorn Thanks Acorn. The initial button was in rough shape, so I'm using a new button and everything lined up very well. I missed the 'ungroup to edit" in the Nav bar dialogue. Thanks very much for helping and pointing that out. Appreciate it.
    Bill, you are more than welcome. If I know about something then I have made the same mistake myself.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •