Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,419

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    As you can see on behzad's sample websites, he used a different version for each variant. Apparently, Xara has difficulty with one code for two (or more) variants.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,118

    Info Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by trnhockey View Post
    Acorn, I tried using Behzad's idea but I can't figure out how to make it work. If I just wanted to use basic text for the mobile version (since I can't get these drop downs to work on both desktop and mobile) do you know of a way to do that? It's a FAQ page which looks great on desktop.... https://museum.tv/faq.htm but the mobile version is blank. I tried to just paste basic text on the mobile version, that won't work either. Is there any other way to do this????
    Todd
    Todd, I already advised using the on-line generator, https://accordionslider.com/. This works fine for Variants.

    An example file: Norman.xar.

    Do note, I place some text in different locations to check the detail. This was deliberate.
    Ensure you wrap the CSS in <style></style> tags.
    You could move the CSS to the Website head code area to save duplication but I left it with the Palceholders so you could experiment with it for different styling.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  3. #13

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Todd, I already advised using the on-line generator, https://accordionslider.com/. This works fine for Variants.

    An example file: Norman.xar.

    Do note, I place some text in different locations to check the detail. This was deliberate.
    Ensure you wrap the CSS in <style></style> tags.
    You could move the CSS to the Website head code area to save duplication but I left it with the Palceholders so you could experiment with it for different styling.

    Acorn
    Thanks very much Acorn!!

  4. #14

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    I know this thread is pretty old, but I could not get the generator mentioned above to work. I did a lot of search for this feature a few years ago and decided JotForm.com was the easiest to work with, however the free plan does have it's limitations. Here are the results. https://www.madaboutmolds.com/Everyt...ht%20here!.htm would be interested if there are any other generator options out there now that offer free or no plan to use it.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,388

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    There have been several recent posts in this thread Marjorie, and some offer a solution you might want to try. Read backwards.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,118

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by marjorie View Post
    I know this thread is pretty old
    ?

    JotForm doesn't do drop down FAQs unless I have missed out.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    I believe the above example https://www.madaboutmolds.com/Everyt...ht%20here!.htm uses the Highslide JS Generator http://highslide.com/configurator.php ? (at least it looks that way from the code).

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,118

    Info Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    I've worked it out. marjorie is using https://www.jotform.com/help/297-Sho...Collapse-Field and text/images for the FAQs; there being no actual form fields on the page.

    For 10 FAQs as here, I would just have created pop-up Layers for each

    My own design decision might have been to put all the FAQs in as ten separate pages and present them through an IFRAME (eleven as there is the fully collapsed FAQ Options used as a safe return point).
    Only two of the FAQs need much space so the long main page could be much reduced and the two long ones just rely on an IFRAME vertical scrollbar.

    Here is an example: Xara - IFRAMEd FAQs.xar.
    It only handles the FAQ pages for A, B & C as I have left the rest as your homework.

    To develop:
    1. In the Page and Layer gallery, select the faqs page.
    2. Duplicate it. // Creates faq-d page.
    3. Move faq-d page to the bottom.
    4. Select faq-d page.
    5. Select all FAQs below Option D and move them to the bottom of the page.
    6. Clone the white rectangle and red latter in any prior page and move to faq-d.
    7. Change the Option D link to faqs.htm // Ensure Correct automatically is unticked.
    8. Change the left arrow to an up arrow.
    9. Save the file
    10. Repeat for all other Options.

    If more space is required, delete all but the above and below Option bars and change their text to Previous FAQs and Next FAQs and set their link to faqs.htm.

    Clearly the contents of each Option are up for grabs as are the Option Questions. I have used marjorie's styling as a starter.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  9. #19

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    Yes, if you look at my link. This example is built with a free plan in Jotform. Unfortunately, it's limited to only 100 page loads per month, but it works well and is very easy to set up. For now, I have what I need in case another client would need it. I was just wondering if there was anything easy without coding that would not need a plan. I have other options I could use as well, such as expandable text code, expandable pins, and images. I would just rather not work with code if possible.https://www.madaboutmolds.com/Everyt...ht%20here!.htm

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    605

    Default Re: FAQ drop down boxes

    Shamelessly stealing Acorn's hard work. I would attack it using layers rather that separate pages which keeps everything in the same place, gives the option of using the built in animations and eliminates the small amount of code.

    Layered FAQs.web

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •