Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    358

    Default Keep Xara Offline?

    I'm not a fan of auto updates/check for updates. I'm oldskool, I suppose in that I treat whatever I buy as 'the one I want' and if I ever run into something I can't do or find something that is just frustrating to accomplish, then I'll check myself to see if there's a new version that addresses that issue.

    Unfortunately, no matter how many times I check 'do not show again' on the opening splash screen that begs me to buy a new Xara (with features that I literally don't need at the moment), it pops up again on the next start.

    Does anyone else have this issue? It comes off more as shareware nag screen than anything and last I checked, my records show I paid money for nag-free software.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    See my some of artwork and hear some of my music at www.kniteforcerevolution.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,571

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    Join the club,take a look here and especially post 6 https://www.talkgraphics.com/showthr...update-service

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    703

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    Constantly being nagged isn't actually a problem for me at all. I find just clicking the button and shouting, "NO, **** OFF, I'VE TOLD YOU A 100 TIMES BEFORE" helps me completely keep my composure.
    Jono (Xara Photo & Graphic Designer 16.1.1.56358, Renewal due: 04 June 2019)

  4. #4

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    YES! Xara is totally inane in this regard.

    I have installed X16 alongside X12, which works a lot better for some things.

    SO, my subscription is active for the year, but two things. One is "the NAG".

    But another is Your extensions are not associated with this program, doh!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,597

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    Quote Originally Posted by TwoEdgedSword View Post

    But another is Your extensions are not associated with this program, doh!
    You can set this by right-clicking a .xar or .web file and selecting 'Open with'. If your Xara app is not listed, select 'Choose another app', browse to it and, once located, tick the 'Always choose this app to open ....'

  6. #6

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    Quote Originally Posted by Boy View Post
    You can set this by right-clicking a .xar or .web file and selecting 'Open with'. If your Xara app is not listed, select 'Choose another app', browse to it and, once located, tick the 'Always choose this app to open ....'
    You missed the point @Boy... the point is that you cannot have .xar and .web files registered to both Xara programs, e.g., X11 and X16... with a little forward thinking it could be registered to both apps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,904

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    would windows actually allow that ?
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,597

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    Quote Originally Posted by TwoEdgedSword View Post
    You missed the point @Boy... the point is that you cannot have .xar and .web files registered to both Xara programs, e.g., X11 and X16... with a little forward thinking it could be registered to both apps.
    You missed the point by almost three months....

    Why would you register both .xar and .web files to two programs? The idea is that when you open a file, it will be done by the program to which you have assigned this type of file. Windows cannot decide this for you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,904

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    indeed, you can only have one default ... and that is why the open with function is there, in case you want to use another on occasion, or change said default [other ways too to do this of course]

    hence the irony on my part
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    12,039

    Default Re: Keep Xara Offline?

    My noddie solution is to open the application and drag the file into it.
    Works for all 7 versions of Xara I currently have.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed and active Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+, XDPX, XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7, Xara Xtreme 5, back through time (to CC's Artworks).
    Raise software faults with MagiXara: http://support.magix.net/; if Cloud+/Pro+: https://xara.com/contact-us/

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •