Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Website and hosting prices ?

Hi Everyone,
    Im new to Xara products and new to the forum, Firstly reading through the forum has helped me out tremendously with things ive been stuck on.
    Im currently using web designer premium but will be upgrading to designer pro as this seems to be an all in one solution for my needs.
    Any how im kind of new when it comes to web design for customers so just have a few questions if anyone can give me the answers please ?

What do you charge customers for building them a website ? I understand it depends on how complex it is but just a rough idea please ?
    Also do you host there site and do you charge them monthly hosting ? if so how much ?

A few friends such as a local tradesman and a friend who runs a martial arts club have me do them a website so just need a rough idea on pricing structure

Thanks

Default Re: Website and hosting prices ?

Danny, let's say you build a static site in 20 hours and it is 5 pages. A modest rate of £20/hr is £400 or £80/page.
    But then you add a Variant or change to a Supersite so a cost per page doesn't make sense any more. I charge a jobbing rate of £25/hr to £40/hr, depending on the complexity. More if I don't like what I am be constrained to do, less if I am enjoying the work, the design is tricky but rewarding and I know the client is on board.

Ongoing annual support would be >10% and I would include adding a page within that cost as well as small, infrequent changes. Bigger changes at the jobbing rate. Remember, going back to an old design is quite slow to get up-to-speed.

If hosting, I charge the cost of getting a domain, SSL and annual hosting or longer, where suitable. Again, cost at your jobbing rate, factoring out your learning curve.