Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    86

    Default My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Hey there!

    So, I have created a website for our construction business.

    I just recently got the home page done, uploaded it, cleared my cache and found that it takes a long time to load.

    For me, it was upwards of 15 seconds.

    What can I do to fix this without removing the widget or the pictures?

    https://pilgrimwayconstruction.com/sandbox/
    Braden

    It is not necessary that hypotheses should be true, or even probable; it is sufficient that they lead to results of calculation which agree with observations. -Nicolaus Copernicus

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,350

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Hi Brandon, it's always worth looking at your page speed load via Pingdom. I don't pretend to understand 10% of it's report but it often points to slow loading data:

    https://tools.pingdom.com/#5b439a4f26000000
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,440

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Have a look at the spelling of Contact on the Nav Bar. It loads OK for me but everything seems too big. And the dark background does not feel inviting.

    I wonder if the download speed has to do more with your web host? Others can comment on this.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Haha. Good catch Gary.

    Yea I think youre right about it being too big. I like the spacing though, so I'll just scale it down.

    I use the same hoster on a different website, and as far as I know, it loads super fast, but it only has one picture, or just a couple.

    Could be that the host is having issues, but my the home page comes out at around 5MB in size.

    Seems fairly large.
    Braden

    It is not necessary that hypotheses should be true, or even probable; it is sufficient that they lead to results of calculation which agree with observations. -Nicolaus Copernicus

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    647

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    It loaded fine for me too although I did stare at it for a while waiting for something to fill the space.

    I understand that you haven't started giving it a coat of paint or polishing the door knobs yet, but I agree with Gary, the overall page is too dark. The photos are the main focus and they become somewhat lost because of the fades. I would also tweak the photos themselves to be more vibrant (add a simple line frame?).

    Playing around with colours is easy and personal, just make sure the content is front and centre. Backgrounds are meant help the foreground shine and be largely inconspicuous.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    647

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by Braden View Post
    Could be that the host is having issues, but my the home page comes out at around 5MB in size.

    Seems fairly large.
    That will probably be the photos. Resize them to be only a little bigger than the intended viewing size.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Thanks everyone.

    I've heard a review that was pretty eye-opening.

    I have a lot of work to do, and almost feel the need to start from scratch.

    Discouraging.
    Braden

    It is not necessary that hypotheses should be true, or even probable; it is sufficient that they lead to results of calculation which agree with observations. -Nicolaus Copernicus

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    647

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by Braden View Post
    I have a lot of work to do, and almost feel the need to start from scratch.

    Discouraging.
    There isn't anyone here who hasn't started from scratch; I virtually plan it into my schedule! You'll also find you'll re-create a lot faster and easier because you have more clarity in where you are headed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    8,136

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    There isn't anyone here who hasn't started from scratch; I virtually plan it into my schedule! You'll also find you'll re-create a lot faster and easier because you have more clarity in where you are headed.
    Absolutely. Nobody starts out without a few mistakes.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,263

    Default Re: My site takes a long time to load . . .

    Braden, your Main Home page resizing has reduced the load time down to 6.5 to 9 seconds here. A reload is around 0.5 to 3 seconds. The slider is taking up around four seconds.

    Sadly, most of your other PNGs each take a quarter of a second as well and all together these times add up.
    The NavBar buttons could be made into text and CSS, achieving the same effect.
    The headings with a line width are all converted to graphics so remove this and use possibly CSS to add the edging.

    With large image collections, I prefer to host them myself and avoid the Xara offering.

    Hope this helps.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •