Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    12

    Default FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    Help Please! I am not able to publish my site. The upload process takes about an hour and a half, and then I get this error message. I work for a City, and our IT Dept. was not able to troubleshoot the issue.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	xara error.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	54.6 KB 
ID:	125059

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,436

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    I have no idea what this means.

    Are you publishing to the correct address? Most web hosts require you publish to a specific sub folder, something like public_html.

    Also, you can try publishing to a folder on your desktop. Then using a 3rd party FTP (Filezilla for example) to upload the entire contents of the folder to your web host.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,932

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    one of those 'unhelpful' error messages that basically means 'sorry no can do'

    in addition to what Gary suggests check your login details, and that https is set up correctly if you are using this; also proxy if using one

    it may be a server-side issue
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    Currently trying to publish to my desktop so that I can upload with Filezilla. I really have no idea what I am doing, this is all new to me. I've tried contacting Xara support through their online request form, but haven't heard anything. I did call ipower to make sure I have all of the publish details correct. What's strange is that I have been publishing the same website for years, and now all of a sudden I am running into this issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,932

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    you might also check to see if you have sufficient space on your hosts server - you should be able to do this with filezilla - and of course that you are uploading to the correct folder
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    This may be a silly question, but how do I publish the site to my desktop in order to be able to upload with filezilla? Here's what I'm currently looking at.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	filezilla.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	67.0 KB 
ID:	125106

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,932

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    publishing your site to your desktop will need to be done from within xara - you can then upload it to your host server with filezilla
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,932

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    as far as I know that means exporting it to HTML, but it is not something I am familiar with
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,243

    Default Re: FTP Error: Failed sending data to the peer

    Quote Originally Posted by Lmag View Post
    This may be a silly question, but how do I publish the site to my desktop in order to be able to upload with filezilla? Here's what I'm currently looking at.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	filezilla.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	67.0 KB 
ID:	125106
    @handrawn - Sorry, never publish to your Desktop as one day you will and overwrite the actual site files you had and not the test garbage.

    @Lmag - Always create a new folder and Export Website to that.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •