Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Save Option

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Reading. UK
    Posts
    6,179

    Default Save Option

    I'm not sure what the title should have been?
    And I hope I can explain what is missing when saving.

    If I import an image into DP19 (and previous versions I think), make changes to the image, and then I normally close that file.
    It's at this point you are asked if you want to save the changes.
    But, I also used to get an option that asked if I wanted to keep the original or discard the original.

    Does anyone know how this option can be turned back on?

    Featured Artist on Xara Xone . May 2011
    . A Shield . My First Tutorial
    . Bottle Cap . My Second Tutorial on Xara Xone

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: Save Option

    WDP 16.2

    Open new document, drag a picture in, resize and cut a bit off. Close the tab. I am asked if I want save, I say yes and name it. Nothing else is offered.

    If I have something on the clipboard I am asked if I want to discard when I close the whole program though. I don't remember it ever being any different, but I can't go back more than a couple of years.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Reading. UK
    Posts
    6,179

    Default Re: Save Option

    Trust me.
    If I had remembered to remove the tick from the box that says 'don't show again' this option that I'm taling about will still be available to me.

    Featured Artist on Xara Xone . May 2011
    . A Shield . My First Tutorial
    . Bottle Cap . My Second Tutorial on Xara Xone

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,287

    Default Re: Save Option

    DP 16.2 is the latest version. But I quibble.

    I do not recall ever seeing what you are describing. I can confirm Chris's observation about keep or discard objects on Clipboard.


    Now this is really biting the bullet but it will get your requestor back (I think) if it ever was there. Window > Control Bars > Reset.

    This is a bit draconian and you will lose any custom settings.

    I have a default template I use that has some settings and XaReg can adjust some of the registry settings.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: Save Option

    Quote Originally Posted by Rik View Post
    Trust me.
    If I had remembered to remove the tick from the box that says 'don't show again' this option that I'm taling about will still be available to me.
    Help > Info Pop-Ups > Turn All On

    Would that help?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,287

    Default Re: Save Option

    Sound less fatal than my suggestion.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Reading. UK
    Posts
    6,179

    Default Re: Save Option

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    Help > Info Pop-Ups > Turn All On

    Would that help?
    You've hit the nail on the head!

    So, here's what you get, when you close the open file with the image.

    First, you get the option to choose whether you want to save the changes.

    Then, when you choose 'save' the changes, you get the option to 'Save original' or 'Discard original'.

    Cheers, Chris M.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	save options 2.png 
Views:	13 
Size:	54.6 KB 
ID:	124920  

    Featured Artist on Xara Xone . May 2011
    . A Shield . My First Tutorial
    . Bottle Cap . My Second Tutorial on Xara Xone

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: Save Option

    Ah, because you're saving the project with the same name as the original. The penny doth drop.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,793

    Default Re: Save Option

    well at least you got this issue sorted Rik

    I'm still wonering if the other save issue is linked to master copies - it is strange that the program does not have permission to overwrite a file that is open in it
    -------------------------------
    'Xara frequently finds a better way to handle something that is not always the way we like to handle something' [GWP]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Reading. UK
    Posts
    6,179

    Default Re: Save Option

    That's just an option that I wanted to turn back on.
    Or, to know how to turn on/off.

    The other 'Save' problems is THE REAL PROBLEM.
    Which, Magix/Xara don't seem to care about.

    Featured Artist on Xara Xone . May 2011
    . A Shield . My First Tutorial
    . Bottle Cap . My Second Tutorial on Xara Xone

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •