Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,638

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    In the Select tool, right-click on the object and click drag an area to select all the Nodes in that area.
    To deselect, hold the Shift key down and when you hover over a Node and the pointer changes to up/down & left-right arrows, click the Node. This is a node at a time.
    Shift-click is a toggle of the Node selection.

    To avoid adding a Node, check neither end line Node is selected. If so, just press the Tab key.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,544

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    shape tool I think ?

    another way to do it
    -------------------------------

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,638

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    shape tool I think ?
    another way to do it
    Yes, there is a switch to the Shape Tool I overlooked.
    I was too keen to get my tuppence-worth in.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,544

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    you contributions are usually worth a lot more than tuppence
    -------------------------------

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    Quote Originally Posted by Promidi View Post
    From Xara, Press CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+B to bring up the Control Bars dialogue.

    Look to the bottom of the list to select "Button Pallete"

    A dialogue box with a plethora of buttons will appear. Look for the icon to the left of the Rectangle tool (near the top). It's called the "Pen Tool" (Mouse over it to confirm the name)

    This tool, I believe, may be the closest to what you're after.

    If you wish to add this tool to a tool bar (may the side tool bar for example), hold down ALT while dragging it to where you would like it to be placed.

    Experiment with this tool for a while to see if it is indeed what you're after.

    Hope this helps.
    I've added this tool through the button palette to my custom bar and it keeps disappearing every time I restart Xara. Any idea what could be the cause of that?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,544

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    as I recall you need to edit the registry to get that tool to persist - when it will appear on the flyout bar with the other 'drawing' tools

    the registry key is:

    Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Xara\XtremePro HB x64\15\Options\FlyoutBars\\ShowPenToolOnFlyout

    [changing 'XtremeProHB x64\15' for your version of the program]

    modify the value of the key from 0 to 1

    [do this with the program closed of course]

    it should then persist on the flyout:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-07-15 21_01_26-Xara Designer Pro X - [Untitled1].png 
Views:	4 
Size:	4.2 KB 
ID:	124524

    this will then enable you to place it on other bars and have it persist there too [I think]


    why do you have to do this? - because Xara deprecated the tool - it is left there for compatibility with abobe users
    -------------------------------

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    444

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    For the pen tool, an easy way is to create a shortcut for it. You just have to remember what the shortcut is.
    John
    Xara DPX(16.2.0.56957)

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,638

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    It was kind of Xara to deprecate the Pen Tool that designers have been using from the off.
    It might also a poor UI idea that allows the Pen Tool icon to be Alt-drag added to the Toolbar and then vanish it on restart.

    The notes are equally vague:
    Note: Although it is not in the Drawing Tools toolbar, you can also use the PEN TOOL to create precise shapes. It has limited functionality and works like the line
    tool of other drawing programs. To use the PEN TOOL, choose CONTROL BARS
    from the WINDOW menu and click the BUTTON PALETTE checkbox. Then click the
    PEN TOOL icon in the Button Palette.
    If I recall, the trick is to create a new Control Bar and Alt-drag the Pen Tool to that to achieve some persistence.

    The Pen Tool is quite happy burbling along in v11 & v12.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •