Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    Hello,
    I'm new to Xara Designer, though I have experience with other vector programs and I immediately noticed that this program is missing a node tool.
    So what I would like to ask is - how do I select multiple object nodes without shift-clicking each of them one by one? Is there a way to do so?
    I couldn't google an answer anywhere so I'm asking directly here.

    Thanks in advance for your help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    Posts
    857

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    Shape tool (F4)
    ~Fred

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    I see, however this is not true equivalent to node too, as it can serve as a line or polygon tool as well.. Sigh, so it's kinda annoying when instead of selection rectangle it creates you a new line or places a new node..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    Quote Originally Posted by Fred C View Post
    Shape tool (F4)
    Two more questions, if you can help me out please:
    Why does copy and paste throw my item way across the canvas?
    And is there a repeat past action type of shortcut in Xara (like there is in Corel)?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,350

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    You can use Edit/Paste/Paste in place (Shft+Ctrl+V).

    Repeat last action is unfortunately not available in Xara.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    Posts
    857

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    "...not true equivalent', Well that is what is available.
    I'd tell you how to select more than 1 node, but it will certainly be 'annoying' too, so I won't bother.
    ~Fred

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    36,959

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    I'd tell you how to select more than 1 node, but it will certainly be 'annoying too, so I won't bother.


    IcyPro - Shift + click. And/or drag a selection marque around the nodes.

    Every software program frequently does the same thing differently. Once you stop asking why it does not work the way your other product works, you will be one step closer to becoming a "pro" user. :-)

    Welcome to TalkGraphics.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    F4 and then marquee select multiple nodes. (sorry Fred)

    Zoom in to paste near where you want paste.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes

    Quote Originally Posted by Boy View Post
    You can use Edit/Paste/Paste in place (Shft+Ctrl+V).

    Repeat last action is unfortunately not available in Xara.
    Thank you for that tip.
    Anyway, here's a post from 2001 asking about repeating last action:
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Goodall View Post
    This is on our to do list.

    Mark Goodall
    Xara Ltd
    Well, I guess it wasn't on their to-do list then..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,109

    Default Re: Since there's no NODE TOOL, how do you select multiple nodes


    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •