Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mönchengladbach
    Posts
    91

    Default Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    Hi
    does it make sense to upgrade an i5 to i7 with almost same GHz?

    i have a Thinkcentre M93p with i5-4570 3,2GHz
    and could upgrade to a Intel Core i7 (i7-4770) 3.4 GHz
    but i doubt that make sense, or am i wrong?

    regards
    reinhard
    no sicknature. for nearly 13 years. omg ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,483

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    Reinhard, if it is just for your Xara Desktop application, I would say no.

    Invest in an SSD and more memory first off.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    7,977

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Reinhard, if it is just for your Xara Desktop application, I would say no.

    Invest in an SSD and more memory first off.

    Acorn
    Definitely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mönchengladbach
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    oh i have already two ssd, one with OS second for swap, temp, xara autobackup, and so on.

    thx for feedback.
    no sicknature. for nearly 13 years. omg ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    7,977

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    Quote Originally Posted by rsrsrs View Post
    oh i have already two ssd, one with OS second for swap, temp, xara autobackup, and so on.

    thx for feedback.
    Is Xara slow?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mönchengladbach
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    is salt toxic?
    It depends on the number of quantity.


    But sometimes i have to import files from Autocad with a mega lot of objects, impossible to work with.
    or i have artworks with a lot of ungrouped objects, than it is slow.

    but i tried other programms, no alternative at all !!!

    Xara is very fast!
    no sicknature. for nearly 13 years. omg ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    398

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    The CPU won't make too much difference in this your case. You want a lot of RAM, 16GB as a minimum and a graphics card with as many CUDA cores (nVidia) as your pocket will allow. Quadro cards are where the smart money is.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    7,977

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    a graphics card with as many CUDA cores (nVidia) as your pocket will allow. Quadro cards are where the smart money is.
    Will Xara even notice?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    398

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    rsrsrs said he sometimes has to import a lot of content from AutoCad and ungrouped objects. There's a fair bit of graphical grunt taken up by the GPU, freeing the CPU. AutoCad (if used on the same machine) will perform better with a Quadro as well, they're even recommended in the specs from AutoDesk.

    Graphics software typically like an abundance of RAM and GPU grunt, I presume Xara would be no different if you're pushing a lot of objects in one document.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    7,977

    Default Re: Xara pro, i5 vs i7 or Hyperthreading vs non Hyperthreading ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    rsrsrs said he sometimes has to import a lot of content from AutoCad and ungrouped objects. There's a fair bit of graphical grunt taken up by the GPU, freeing the CPU. AutoCad (if used on the same machine) will perform better with a Quadro as well, they're even recommended in the specs from AutoDesk.

    Graphics software typically like an abundance of RAM and GPU grunt, I presume Xara would be no different if you're pushing a lot of objects in one document.
    I'm not sure if rsrsrs actually runs autocad at all. He/she may just be given the models.

    I'm just pointing out that Xara could care less about fancy GPUs so spending money on them specifically for Xara would be a waste.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •