Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Problem scaling background to browser width

Hello,
    I am new to Xara, and I wanted to re-create the website that I made in the WYSIWYG web designer I was using previously, but I have run into a snag almost immediately.
    I have 2 bands of color on the top and bottom of the page that span the full width of the browser. I was not able to figure out how to do this, so I turned to the manual and the internet. I found tutorials for previous versions of Web Designer with "stretch to page width" and "web sticky/stretchy" context options, but those are not available in my version. Searching the manual for these terms brings up nothing relevant.

So please, how do I stretch an object to full browser width?

Default Re: Problem scaling background to browser width

What version are you on? If you're on a really old version it's worth upgrading for the sticky/stretchy options.
    XT-CMS - a self-hosted CMS for Xara Designers - Xara + CMS Demo with blog & ecommerce shopping cart system.

Welcome to TG girlfreind.

If you don't have Stretchy option, then the simplest way would to do this on the pasteboard layer. Lock all other layers and Ctrl+A You will get one rectangle selected. Fill this with one colour. Ctrl+K (Clone) this rectangle, fill with second colour. Zoom way out to 10%, then reduce the height to half page height.

Preview
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Egg

Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

If you right click one of the bands, do you not see 'Web Sticky/Stretchy' at the bottom of the menu? (sticky/stretchy makes me chuckle...I'm such a child)

Hello everyone, thank you for your feedback so far. I am running version 15.1.1.54379. I do not see the web sticky/stretchy option, which is why I came here.