Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    20

    Default General Question

    HI sorry if this is in the wrong place, but i am hoping to make changes to my website to make it update changes faster, My question is (and it sounds silly in my head) if i log in via FTP and delete all the files, because there`s quite a lot that now have nothing to do with the website itself - and then re upload the new version of my site (i am going to make use of sub domains) will this work out ok as i say it sounds a daft question
    Jack

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    7,897

    Default Re: General Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Terrier View Post
    HI sorry if this is in the wrong place, but i am hoping to make changes to my website to make it update changes faster, My question is (and it sounds silly in my head) if i log in via FTP and delete all the files, because there`s quite a lot that now have nothing to do with the website itself - and then re upload the new version of my site (i am going to make use of sub domains) will this work out ok as i say it sounds a daft question
    Jack
    It should be fine, BUT my advice is to do this in two stages.

    1) create a subdirectory on your webspace - say "./old-site"
    2) move all your website files and directories to "old-site". DON'T move stuff like .htaccess, etc.
    3) FTP the new site

    If the new site doesn't work then you have a way back. If it's all good you can delete the old-site directory.

    Hopefully if anyone sees an issue with this, post about it.

    ALWAYS have a backup when doing stuff like this.

    Paul

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,325

    Default Re: General Question

    Jack, I would flip Paul's advice and move all the current stuff to a folder with a name that refers to the date of the move. This can be checked and used for a historical view of your work, setting the folder to public or private as you require.
    Then upload new into old location. If all works, job done. If not, you have a recovery from the old version.
    I always like keeping a few archive copies just in case; storage is cheap.

    Acorn
    Last edited by Acorn; 10 May 2019 at 06:42 PM.
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    7,897

    Default Re: General Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    JAck, I would flip Paul's advices and move all the current stuff to a folder with a name that refers to the date of the move. This can be checked and used for a historical view of your work, setting the folder to public or private as you require.
    Then upload new into old location. If all works, job done. If not, you have a recovery from the old version.
    I always like keeping a few archive copies just in case; storage is cheap.

    Acorn
    Good advice.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •