Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Please tell me how to create a table . . . am very frustrated

Hi all,

I am new to Xara and think it is a tremendous program - once you find out how to use it!

It seems not very intuitive. One of my biggest frustrations has been trying to add a table. All of the data is in a CSV file, but I cannot figure how to import it (Or copy and paste it so that it shows correctly, for that matter).

The table is a long one, comprised of baseball stats from a league. If Xara does not allow for easy creation, is there a free third-party resource that can be used to create the table online and then copy it to the webpage?

Thanks for the help . . .

Default Re: Please tell me how to create a table . . . am very frustrated

Welcome to TalkGraphics

Some of the members will have a better solution I suspect.

I think you can import the table into Microsoft Word then copy and paste into Web Designer.

In the latest update of Web Designer Premium 16.1 there are tables in the On-line Content Catalog. But I don't think any of these can import data from a CSV file. But I might be wrong.

FWIW - I know you can open CSV in Open Office, and I know you can then export this in an HTML/XHTML format suitable for web page insertion if that helps - Open Office is free - but I am not a website builder, so thats all I can suggest
    -------------------------------
    Nothing lasts forever...

Hi George,

If your data is in a CSV file, you need to convert it to TSV first (tab separated values). Afterwards, select all the values and then in Xara if you have your table there ready, select the text tool and click into the first cell. Press Ctrl + V and it should paste all of the TSV data. I'll make sure this is documented somewhere as I'm not sure it's in the table article yet.

In the meantime I think there's some instructions here: http://releasenotes.xara.hosting/des...Anchor:58chF4m