Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Smile Aspiring graphic designer looking for tips and advice :)

Hi! I'm Anna, and I've just joined the forum today. I am currently in my second year at university studying Graphic Design, and just was wondering if someone experienced / professional could tell me a little bit about their experience, so about how you got into the field - did you also study at university or went for an internship or something along those lines instead? When getting your first job, did you get it through contacts you've made and people you knew, or did you apply through a job site and had an interview? What was your first job like, and what do you currently do? I'm just really interested about people's experiences and how they got to where they are today, and what kind of things to expect in general.

Thank you for your time and any replies short or detailed are very much appreciated

Default Re: Aspiring graphic designer looking for tips and advice :)

Welcome to TalkGraphics Anna

I graduated in 1967 from Art Center College of Design in Los Angeles (now in Pasadena, a suburb of Los Angeles) in 1967 with a major in advertising design. I worked for 15 years as an advertising art director and then had my own graphic design company in San Francisco for 12 years.

Art Center back then was jokingly referred to as an "art factory" as the primary focus was on a professional education taught by people who actually worked in the industry. It was intense training and only one in 15 students who started graduated.

The excellent reputation of the school was such that I had two job offers before I graduated.