Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 47
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,293

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    could be web designer dosn't do this - we had to 'make noise' to get it reinstated in xdp and xp&g when it was ommitted in ver 15.0 - xara's philosophy of making design for web and office documents 'easy' [and 'non-destructive' as Rob said] tends to discount squishing as unwanted distortion - it would not be the only thing missing from the web specific programs

    acorn will probably know...
    -------------------------------

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,238

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    could be web designer dosn't do this - we had to 'make noise' to get it reinstated in xdp and xp&g when it was ommitted in ver 15.0 - xara's philosophy of making design for web and office documents 'easy' [and 'non-destructive' as Rob said] tends to discount squishing as unwanted distortion - it would not be the only thing missing from the web specific programs

    acorn will probably know...
    The current approach (Smart Transform) in XDPXv16.0 was applied to v15.1 but not before, if that helps. I stopped the Update Service for XWDPv15.0 so I can only hazard a guess that no v15.0 Desktop applications have any mechanism to bypass this situation. Xara stands by its position that is is not a bug. As a result I still keep XWDPv12.8 at hand.

    All very sad,
    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,293

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    I equate the approach as - our software is not really meant to do this [squish] unless you are one of those designers who use bitmaps that are not photographs, or who 'distort' photographs before tracing over them for art ,which actually, is a pretty common workflow at least for animation - this is not our core client base

    it was at least good of them to put back the legacy way in ver 15.1

    and lets face it, even with the tools it has, xara's raster tools are rather macdonalds to photoshop's beef wellington; if you want to do mesh warp and the like you can't use xara anyway, unless you set another program up an external editor which does not always work as it should
    -------------------------------

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,153

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    NOTE: Chris said he did this in WDP 16, which doesn't work.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,293

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    put back in in ver 15.1 of XDP .then.. as far as web designer goes I don't know it was ever there as I said...
    -------------------------------

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,044

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Quote Originally Posted by ss-kalm View Post
    NOTE: Chris said he did this in WDP 16, which doesn't work.
    Apologies, this should be fixed in the next patch

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,293

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    so it worked in wd15 but not in wd16 - then I rest my case... xara's priorities [in my opinion] are elsewhere... either that or they have grown 'careless'
    -------------------------------

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,044

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    so it worked in wd15 but not in wd16 - then I rest my case... xara's priorities [in my opinion] are elsewhere... either that or they have grown 'careless'
    No, it didn't work in WD15 nor in 16, but we've fixed it and it should be in the next patch coming up. No need to be sassy either.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    270

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Wow, this really is a splinter in the collective finger.

    I can get around the lack of squish/squash, it's the lack of snapping when resizing in Smart Transform that bothers me more. Even that isn't a huge deal, it just slows the workflow.

    It sounds like the Smart Transform seemed like a good idea but may need some rethink. Having said that, are there any users that think it works well?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,712

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    It sounds like the Smart Transform seemed like a good idea but may need some rethink. Having said that, are there any users that think it works well?
    No, just remove it and convert to how it used to be. It's an unnecessary complication that confuses not only new users but vetran users.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •