Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Richmond, UK
    Posts
    30

    Default Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Hi folks,
    I've just upgraded to ProX and am finding that I am no longer able to do something that I did all the time in previous versions.
    One of my common tricks is to take a scene I've created, create a bitmap copy of it, flip it upside down and then change only its height, producing a 'reflection' of the top half of the image. So: top half of image is my main image, bottom half is a squashed, semi-transparent mirror of it.

    Since the upgrade, all manipulations of photos seem to insist on altering only the clipping edges of the image object, or scaling the entire image in both X and Y axis simultaneously. Has the ability to squash images been removed? If so, that seems like a real step backward from a program I've used solidly since about 2007.

    Any help much appreciated!

    Thanks,

    -Dene

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    There are two ways (at least two that I tried).

    One involves enabling "Show selection bounds handles" (this is the button just above the selection tool, it has a big square surrounded by 8 small squares). When you do this, then after you click an image you will be presented with the old 8 black little squares surronding the selected object, instead of those new blue dots and stuff.

    The second method is to apply a group to your image (like, a group with this image only) - then old selectors (8 black squares) will appear around it.

    After you've done one of the above, hold Alt and then click and drag one of the non-corner selectors to stretch/squish your image.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    36,362

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    The newest versions have introduced something called Smart Transform which makes resizing photos and text behave differently.

    You can disable this feature to get back to the old way of resizing. Right click in the lock icon and if you see Smart Transform in the pop out menu, deselect it.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	smart transform.png 
Views:	11 
Size:	3.2 KB 
ID:	123325  
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    The newest versions have introduced something called Smart Transform which makes resizing photos and text behave differently.

    You can disable this feature to get back to the old way of resizing. Right click in the lock icon and if you see Smart Transform in the pop out menu, deselect it.
    For me it did not quite work as I expected. To make this setting work for image objects, I had to do one of the things that I described in my previous mail (either enable showing selection bound handles, or making a bogus group for the image). If the image was displaying the blue dots around it, then regardless of this setting the image was being cropped, not squished.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,289

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    I think you need to be in selector tool also [and not photo tool]
    -------------------------------

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    264

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Everybody's right and everybody's wrong. This requires a 2 prong attack. It's not either/or it has to be both!

    Turning on 'Show Selection Bounds Handles' (just above the selection arrow) does nothing but remove the blue selection handles. Photo still crops not squash.
    Turning off 'Smart Transform' (right click 'Aspect Ratio Padlock') appears to have zero effect on anything. It probably does, I just don't know what.

    Fix? Turn OFF Smart Transform and turn ON Selection Handles. You have to do this for each photo, I haven't found a way to make it default for the whole document.

    Just tried the 'ALT' method from morris. This appears to be the quickest/easiest way...turn on Selection Handles and then use the ALT whilst dragging...thank you morris.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,289

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    you don't need to use alt if you are in the select tool with smart transform disabled and show selection bounds handles enabled, it just does it like it always did... at least it does in my ver 15.1...
    -------------------------------

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,227

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,289

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    so nicely put Mr G
    -------------------------------

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,044

    Default Re: Help changing only width or height of an image?

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    you don't need to use alt if you are in the select tool with smart transform disabled and show selection bounds handles enabled, it just does it like it always did... at least it does in my ver 15.1...
    This is correct. The smart transform check option simply switches the default behaviour from scale to stretch, with ALT being the overrider, it doesn't disable it as previously mentioned.

    If you have the default settings:
    1) Select the object with the selector tool.
    2) Make sure the "show selection bounds handles" option is enabled (first button on the selector toolbar)
    3) Drag a handle to scale. Hold Alt and Drag to stretch.

    If you right-click on the aspect ratio lock button and uncheck smart transform then step 3 becomes:

    3) Drag a handle to stretch. Hold Alt to Scale.

    If you see the blue smart-shape handles then you won't be able to stretch with these, you need to use the legacy handles which are enabled by checking the show selection bounds handle with the selector tool.

    Thanks
    Rob

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •