Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default grey borders on export?

    Hi I work in the latest xara version which is photo & graphic designer. When I save an image I get a strange grey border, I'll try upload it below:

    https://imgur.com/a/cF9iHHr

    If you save the image and look at it on a white bg you will see it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,820

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    Welcome to TalkGraphics

    Not sure what I am looking at. But usually the reason for a gray or white fringe around an image is the size of the image. For the web, best to save your image as a True Color PNG and if it has irregular borders True Color + Alpha.

    If you are saving your image as 256 colors or less, make sure your image is in even pixel amounts and that the placement on the page is in even pixel amounts.

    If you have a transparent background, and are creating an image for a website with a non-white background, then place the image over a rectangle the same color as your background. Select the image but not the rectangle and export as PNG, with transparent background.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    Even pixels seem to solve the problem. However, the uneven pixels do no create the border at export when creating and saving at 100% zoom. Is that a bug?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,820

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    How are you saving the image (JPEG, PNG, 24-bit, 256 or 16 colors)? Need more info.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    How are you saving the image (JPEG, PNG, 24-bit, 256 or 16 colors)? Need more info.
    jpeg and png 24bit same result

    just checked png + alpha same result

    so far the solution is either save at 100% zoom or save with even pixels at any zoom

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,820

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    Xara anti-aliases images, and this softens the edges as well. So if an image is 125.5 pixels wide, Xara will attempt to blend the image with the background which results in the border issue.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Xara anti-aliases images, and this softens the edges as well. So if an image is 125.5 pixels wide, Xara will attempt to blend the image with the background which results in the border issue.
    Looks like it. Can you force it to draw shapes with even pixels?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,820

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    Are we talking about for website graphics? And if so then I need to move this thread out of graphics and into websites.

    The solution is to export your graphics for how you will be using them. You can use snap to grid but that limits you.

    This might help. http://archive.xaraxone.com/webxealo...k34/page_5.htm
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: grey borders on export?

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Are we talking about for website graphics? And if so then I need to move this thread out of graphics and into websites.

    The solution is to export your graphics for how you will be using them. You can use snap to grid but that limits you.

    This might help. http://archive.xaraxone.com/webxealo...k34/page_5.htm
    Website graphics? No I'm not web designer, I did dabble during the days of xtreme I just can't remember if I had this problem back then, right now I just make things like infographics...

    Snap to grid does not solve uneven pixels, I wish there was an option for that, like on/off, that would be great.

    Anyway thanks.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •