Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Magix Connect

  1. #1

    Default Magix Connect

    What is Magix Connect? I came in to sit at my computer this morning and discovered I had to log in, which normally I don't have to do except when there's been a Windows Update.
    Instead, it was an installation of Magix Connect. I don't know what this is or what it's for, so I did NOT give it permission, as it requested.

    Anyone have information on this program?
    R_o_n _a_l _d __C. __D_u_k_e

    x a r a . c o m..a r t i s t s ..g a l l e r y

    Xara's Facebook

    Xara Designer Pro X 16, Xara 3D7 Web Designer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,349

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron Duke View Post
    What is Magix Connect? I came in to sit at my computer this morning and discovered I had to log in, which normally I don't have to do except when there's been a Windows Update.
    Instead, it was an installation of Magix Connect. I don't know what this is or what it's for, so I did NOT give it permission, as it requested.
    Anyone have information on this program?
    Ron do you have VEGAS Pro installed or some other Magix program?

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    Acorn,

    I don't know what Vegas Pro is.

    Does Magix Panorama Studio count?

    Besides various versions of Xara Designer and Xara 3D, Panorama Studio is the only other Magix product I have, and it was installed with Pro X (16).
    R_o_n _a_l _d __C. __D_u_k_e

    x a r a . c o m..a r t i s t s ..g a l l e r y

    Xara's Facebook

    Xara Designer Pro X 16, Xara 3D7 Web Designer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,349

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron Duke View Post
    Acorn,
    I don't know what Vegas Pro is.
    Does Magix Panorama Studio count?
    Besides various versions of Xara Designer and Xara 3D, Panorama Studio is the only other Magix product I have, and it was installed with Pro X (16).
    Ron, I don't know how it got onto your machine.

    Check if you now have a folder C:\Program Files (x86)\MAGIX\Connect\.

    Connect is seemingly pernicious in that once installed, it is difficult to remove - a definition of malware in my book.
    There are MS Window Registry entries that are not cleaned out, so at every opportunity Connect tries to re-install itself.

    I cannot advise you how to proceed other than email Magix, ask what Connect is for and how to remove it.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,555

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    I believe the latest xara installers come with a free edition/trial of magix music maker - if you let that install it could be this that is prompting 'magix connect' which is a tool linked to thier music programs specifically [such as vegas, music maker, sound forge etc] and could have been installed with any of these

    Quote Originally Posted by MAGIX
    Connect is a tool we use to communicate directly and efficiently with our customers in order to share valuable offers and other information
    yuk

    you can uninstall it from control panel - it is called Connect published by magix software GmbH
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,555

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    Do I have to use Connect? Can I uninstall it?

    No, you do not have to use Connect. To uninstall it, go to your system's Control Panel, choose Uninstall a program, find Connect in the list, and follow the normal uninstall procedure from there. While this will not affect the operation of your MAGIX software in any way, remember that you will no longer receive future offers through the Connect system.
    another quote from magix

    btw - just noticed the forum now gives 'originally posted by' for text with the bb code quote syntax [could have been doing thart for a while of course ]
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  7. #7

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    Thanks much, Acorn and Steve.

    I just uninstalled it. I'll see if that does the trick.

    Thanks again.
    R_o_n _a_l _d __C. __D_u_k_e

    x a r a . c o m..a r t i s t s ..g a l l e r y

    Xara's Facebook

    Xara Designer Pro X 16, Xara 3D7 Web Designer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,555

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    lets hope it stays dead
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    522

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    I leave it where it is. Of course, I have many Magix programs and I want to be advised of anything new, including Xara.

    In the hidden icons tray at the bottom right of your screen, click on Magix Connect, click on Info Channels, and disable all of the products for which you do not want to be advised of anything new.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Magix Connect.jpg 
Views:	76 
Size:	130.7 KB 
ID:	122665

    For some reason, I have this in German.
    John
    Xara DPX(16.2.0.56957)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17,555

    Default Re: Magix Connect

    on my system there is no tray icon, hidden or otherwise - probably notifications disabled for it in windows settings - but useful to know John, thanks
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •