Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sub folders

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default Sub folders

    I would like to create a sub folder but don't see a way of doing it. I.e. I want to create a specialoffer/index.htm page so that people can type webpage.com/specialoffer and it will load. If I create a separate/copy of my current web pages then upload to a sub directory I assume it will mess up the page links on my menu. I tried a filename of specialoffers/index but it does not like the back slash char!!

    I could create a separate page and hard code all the menus - but as that is a lot of work I hope that is not the only answer.


    Thanks,


    Turan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,293

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Long time, Turan.

    Create a sub-folder on your web hosts server, for example special-offer. Publish your special offer page just to that folder. If you save that file as index.htm or index.html then the link is www.mywebsite.com/special-offer

    Or, you can create a special offer page on your website. You can even have a button on your navigation bar SPECIAL OFFER. You can change the content of the page as the offer changes.

    Don't overthink this.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Thanks Gary, I've went old school and paid for a newspaper advert so can't link to it :-). My website has 33 pages!! I would need to create a duplicate doc with just one page in it, but then my nav bar would not work - unless I hard code the full URL for that one page (prone to human error) OR drop the navbar all together (but I want this page to look like all the others). Given wed designer is supposed to automate work flow - thought there would be a nice solution like adding a filename special-offer/index :-(

    Am I missing something simple or do I need to do what I said above and duplicate my Xara page, delete all but one page and rename it index the hard code all URL's?

    And thanks for remembering me :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,293

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Not sure. Let's wait and see if someone else comes up with a better suggestion.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Thanks - bottom line is I know how to do the slow way. But if I ever update my nav bar I need to now remember to go in and update the standalone page.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Sub folders

    You should be able to create a one-page site (copy a page from your current site and paste it into the new one), then upload that to a subdirectory on your server (speacialoffer for example) and then when a user types in www.yoursite.com/specialoffer it should open that one page (which by default will be named index.htm or .html depending on your settings).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,273

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Hi Turan,
    1: Create your special-offers website (just a single page) and publish it as index.htm to a subfolder named 'specials'.
    2: On your main site create a page and in it place a placeholder with the following code in the Body:
    <iframe src="http://your-site.com/specials/index.htm" width=680 height=630 scrolling=no frameborder=0 marginheight=0 marginwidth=0></iframe>

    EXAMPLE
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    388

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Hi Egg, just for reference, tried viewing your example on an iPad and noticed I had to tap each menu button twice to open a page. The first tap changed the button colour, the second opend the page.
    Last edited by Jonopen; 18 September 2018 at 07:35 AM. Reason: Changed ‘click’ to ‘tap’. Old habits die hard!
    Jono (Photo & Graphic Designer v15.1, Win10. Expires: 04 June 2019, Updates: 1 (21 June - content update)


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,273

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Cheers Jono. It was intended as a 'how-to' so I'm not really concerned about iPads but just to confirm I get the same
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Sub folders

    Oh! Egg you're a star - that works, and a very nice way to do it. Big thanks. Sorry for delay in getting back to you, thought it was set for notifications but it was not.

    Turan

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •