Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website


  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Hello again,
    I sure hope this is a proper Screen Shot and what can help you all assist me in getting to the bottom of what's going on. I hope this represents what I am seeing when I use Xara to preview my website. Please let me know if this is what you all need?

    bob

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    8,399

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Quote Originally Posted by musicmanrobert View Post
    Hello again,
    I sure hope this is a proper Screen Shot and what can help you all assist me in getting to the bottom of what's going on. I hope this represents what I am seeing when I use Xara to preview my website. Please let me know if this is what you all need?
    bob
    bob, your design file (WEB) is fine; you are publishing to the wrong place.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Hello Mr. Acorn and everyone,

    I am happy to know my design fine is OK. I used FileZilla to upload my website files and was so happy to see a published website. Now, how do I find out where my published/saved files are going? You all have been a real blessing to me on this. I could have never figured this out myself. I am still learning and love it. Any suggestions how I might find out where my published files are going would be very much appreciated. Thank you all for what you've done for me. I am so pleased.

    bob
    Last edited by musicmanrobert; 12 September 2018 at 01:17 AM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,408

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Your site is fine, but as Acorn states you must be uploading to the wrong directory. This directory is often public_html but only the web hosting company can give you this detail, we can't.

    I've uploaded your site to my server to show you it all works fine. Link below. I'll delete it from my server in a couple of days.

    LINK
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Good Wed Morning Mr. Egg Bramhill,
    I am so appreciative of everyone here for your help and attention. Everyone who reached out to me has been a real blessing. Everyone has been so understanding and kind. I just have to figure out where my saved files are going so they will be the only one's I publish.

    bob

  7. #27

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Since you are using Filezilla and have done multiple sites, are you sure you are uploading your files to the correct domain? Have you checked the other site to be sure it isn't now the BBQ site because your files went there? Easy to do with FZ (don't ask me how I know this). Also as a thought you might consider intentionally uploading your files to a different folder on your server (somewhere you can remember the path to, such as in the public_html folder create a new folder called test (or any name you want to use) and navigate in your browser to that folder and see if your site comes up there. It will be 'live' on the web but only to those that know the folder name to look in, so shouldn't be a security concern for you. And once you figure out the original problem it is easy to delete the test files/folder in FZ.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Mr. BK Johns,

    Yes I have and I've tried "Ctrl-F5" a number of times, all to no avail. As I've stated with my very limited knowledge, I seem to be saving changes to the website in one place, but publishing to another place. When I review either pages or the entire website, I can see all of the changes I've made to the website. However, when I save then publish this 4 page website, the old version and not the new saved version shows up. I've been working on this problem all day so far. I sure do thank you for providing help. I really appreciate.

    bob

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dublin - Ireland
    Posts
    512

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Hi Bob, to make sure you are exporting your site to the right location, in FZ check the local files location and make sure that when you export your site from Xara it is going to that same location
    James D


    DPX11 user

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Uploading newly saved website

    Good Thursday Morning Mr. BKJohns,

    Thank you for asking. Yes, I have completed several complete re-publish but I still get the website without changes. Thank you. I had not paid that any attention. I will try again just to see if there are changes.

    bob

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •